Bluebird Complete!

Posted on

I mentioned last week that I was working on a project and I’ve finally finished! So, it’s a decoupage mosaic. Up close, many little pictures. From far away, a cohesive picture.  Ta-da..

bluebird from a distance-all the little pieces make the colors just right!

I had a lot of little pictures cut out already and waiting in an envelope, but I needed many more. You’d be surprised how long it took me to find little blue pictures in the daily mail. It’s fun to look at it close up and do a little I Spy fun with it. Can you find the teacup and Playmobil policeman?
Face close up. find the teacup and tea
Can you find the bowling ball?
One of my favorite sections
Though there are many bird pictures making up the bird, there are also all kinds of other images. I have to say that I love it and can’t wait to hang it on the wall.
Finished product and the reference photo
When I was in college I had an art class where we had a mosaic assignment. That was my first time doing this sort of picture and I loved it. Here’s that self-portrait:
Self Portrait Mosaic

My decoupage is not the only art that’s been happening. Paul, the actual artist, has been catching up on a lot of painting. For my mother he did two bird portraits-a bluebird and a purple finch.
Backyard Birds by Paul

Backyard Birds by Paul
And for us he did this waterlily, which is based on a picture that I took of a waterlily blooming in our pond a few years ago.
Waterlily by Paul

 

It’s so nice to have a painter in the house!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

4 responses »

  1. Sarah, this bird is beautiful! I just adore it – you did such a nice job placing the colors. Well done!

    Reply
  2. The bluebird looks so great, and like it was a fantastically fun project to work on! Congratulations on finishing it so beautifully! And, needless to say, Paul’s paintings are just wonderful — I really love the bluebird one. You two are knocking the bluebirds out of the park.

    Reply
  3. I am delighted to have these two paintings. Paul (and Sarah) are talented artists.My birds have deserted my birdfeeder so I am doubly glad tob have these on my wall; MOM

    Reply

Leave a comment