RSS Feed

Tea Cozy Embroidery, in progress

Posted on

This project is going to take a little while, so I thought I’d do an update instead of waiting all the way until the end. I’m really delighted with how this is turning out! I couldn’t be more pleased with the jewel tone palette. (I also bought a new embroidery hoop, which is way better than the old one I’d been using.)
Embroidered Tea Cozy work in progress
I’ve used anywhere from 1-6 strands of floss to vary dimension. I’ve used stem stitch, backstitch, and fly stitch (on the wings, to make some feathering.)

My mom showed me a couching stitch that I’ve been eager to try out and I used it on the breast of the bird. It gave just the right look of shading.
Tea Cozy progress
The beak is not as pointy as I’d intended, but I think I’m cool with it being like it is.
Birdie progress
The little feet make it much more finished.
And now the birdie has feet.
I may add more feather contrast (or not) and I may make a little design on some of the empty space on the bird (or not.)
There is one more bird to go and then any other finishing touches I want. I really like how this is coming out!
And now the birdie has feet.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. The little details you’re putting into this are so perfect! It is going to be a truly special piece. I am inspired to practice my embroidery skills!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

