RSS Feed

Happy Birthday, Mom!

Posted on

My mom turns 70 today! We’ve had a very nice time celebrating with her yesterday and today.  Yesterday we went to see Cirque Ziva at RVCC.  This was a performance by the Golden Dragon Acrobats.  If there is one type of entertainment I love above all others it is Chinese acrobats. Last year we saw the Peking Acrobats (also at RVCC) and they were amazing.  This troupe was also incredible. They did a lot of the same sorts of things, which makes me wonder about how Chinese acrobats train-I base my limited knowledge of this fully on Jackie Chan’s interesting autobiography.  Does everyone want to stack up chairs as high as they can and then balance on one arm? And also, they are just crazy contortionists and I think must have no internal organs. It was astounding, impressive, and entertaining and we all had a delightful afternoon.

The back to our house for the birthday dinner. I had a somewhat 1960s/70s feeling menu: London Broil, Twice Baked Potatoes, Holiday Peas, Sweet Spinach Salad, and Lemon Ginger Bundt Cake. “Holiday Peas” are a recipe I clipped from Taste of Home some time ago and my goodness was an easy and delicious thing to do to make peas holiday worthy. Simply mix up crushed cracker (wheat Ritz) crumbs with parmesan cheese and melted butter and sprinkle on top.
"Holiday Peas"
The twice baked potatoes were wonderfully decadent-the potato insides were mixed with cheddar, sour cream, and scallions.
Twice Baked Potatoes
And the salad is also from Taste of Home and I’ve made it many times. The dressing is made of oil, apple cider vinegar, poppy seeds, a little onion, and frozen orange juice concentrate. The salad was composed of spinach, avocado, mandarin oranges, and toasted almonds. yum!
My favorite salad with a poppyseed orange dressing
Now, as for that cake. This is a recipe I had in my box with this note on it “baked 55 minutes, raw in middle, oops 😦 ” I did remember that it was delicious, though, so decided to make it and bake it longer. I baked it an hour and then aggressively tested it all over to see if a tester came out clean. It did so I let it rest in pan for 30 minutes then removed it. And saw that it was raw in the middle! Argh. I figured oh well we’ll just cover it up with powdered sugar. Oh, and Tabby helped bake the cake and did a great job zesting the lemons and other things too. In this photo you can see a bit of the broken side.
#51 Anniversary or Birthday:  Happy Birthday Mom!
But, it was very tasty, especially with a little vanilla ice cream.
Lemon Ginger Bundt Cake

Me and My Mom
I made mom a case for embroidery scissors and am really pleased with how it came out, and she liked it too.
Embroidery Scissors Case
Today, for her actual birthday, we went to Duke Farms for a nice walk to the Orchid Range and lunch in the cafe. It’s a beautiful sunny day, though it was quite chilly. The tropical warmth of the greenhouse was a wonderful oasis.
in the orchid range

in the orchid range

Happy Birthday, Mom!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

Leave a Reply

