RSS Feed

Springtime Animals

Posted on

There are highland cattle that live around the corner from us and they are the shaggiest, sturdiest, cutest animals.  One of them recently had a calf and I’ve been itching to get a good look at it.  Today the cows (and the one horse) were basking in the sunshine and I had a pretty good view of the baby. I stood at the fence snapping some pictures with my zoom and that apparently made the mother suspicious.

IMG_5424She headed over to her baby and squeals of cuteness! Nuzzling the baby! Licking the baby! and then the baby nursing. Oh, it was just too cute.
Nosing her baby

Licking her baby (she went over to him when she saw me taking pictures)

Squeals when I got to see the baby nursing
Meanwhile, we may not have any baby animals at home right now, but you didn’t think I’d bring out the Easter decorations and be able to resist staging some guinea pig holiday pictures, did you?
IMG_5462

Easter Bunny? Easter Piggie!
I keep checking the pond for signs of our frog, but he hasn’t yet emerged. However, I did hear spring peepers for the first time and more and more crocus are blooming. Spring is here!
Purple Crocus

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

Leave a Reply

