RSS Feed

Happy Spring!

Posted on

In fits and starts March is trying to get us into spring and today is the official start. Heeding the old saying to plant your peas on St. Patrick’s Day I did go out and turn over the dirt in the garden on Sunday. But it was cold so I came inside. Then it was still cold. Then yesterday it snowed and sleeted and was freezing in the morning.
Snowy Tulip Bulbs
But quite suddenly, in the afternoon, it became beautifully sunny and 51 degrees. So, Tabby and I headed out to the garden. (She was having a stay at home sick day. A decision I regretted almost instantly because she was so full of energy and vigor that I was then engaged in playing school and other games all morning. She did not actually seem sick at all, but oh well.) We planted our peas! Hardest part of starting the garden is keeping the chickens out.
Planting Peas
Many thanks to Liz and Eleanor for providing this year’s peas, which means they are probably some kind of heirloom seed.
Planting Peas

Today it’s quite chilly, but still sunny, so the crocuses are blooming away. And by the way, next time I plant crocuses, forget that scattered naturally across the lawn look I’m always aiming for in the fall. Apparently I forget that when they actually bloom they will not be dotting green grass, but rather, small specks in the midst of brown mud and dirt and dried up grass. You can hardly see them. Next time? All in one big clump.
Purple crocus
Paul returned to work on Monday and reports that he likes his new job. Fortunately we get along very well (shouldn’t married people??) and did not drive each other nuts while he was at home. That said, I really enjoyed getting back into my own routine this week. (But seriously, we are all very happy for him and excited about this new opportunity and grateful for how hard he worked at finding a new job in his field.) Tabby’s sick day and a flat tire are messing it up a bit, but I’m getting lots of things done that I wanted to do. I’m about to go finish a nice project I’m looking forward to writing about, and, call me crazy, but I started another new blog. Don’t count how many that is! This one is about the children’s books we read in our house. Please check it out at Fourteen Bears.
Think Spring!
Planting Peas

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

3 responses »

  1. This crazy weather is making me crazy! Grrr! The poor crocuses just want to open up, but every day’s too cold! Anyway, I can’t figure out how people end up with the lawns that are carpets of crocuses or squill. We have one squill. The same one has popped up every spring since we moved into Maple Hoo, but has never divided or spread or whatever it is that squill does. Meanwhile there’s a house in town that literally has an entire lawn of purple in the spring. I DON’T GET IT. I guess we mortals just have to be happy with clumps of crocuses.

    Anyway, in case you were wondering, the peas are Lincoln shell peas. We’ve never grown them before, so I hope they’re good!

    Reply
    • There is a house across the street from Tabby’s school that has a carpet of purple crocuses and I also just don’t get it. I’ve never had daffodils spread and naturalize either. Does this mean I should not eat the outside of the pea? Are you meant to shell these peas? (I don’t have a great record with that! I like to gobble it pod and all!)

      Reply
      • Yeah, these are shelling peas, not “eat the whole pod” peas. I should have warned you about that! I have no idea if the pod is edible… it probably is, but may not taste great?

Leave a Reply

