RSS Feed

R.I.P. Little Silk

Posted on

Little Silk
Our dear Little Silk died this morning in a terrible accident. What makes it worse is that for weeks I’ve been worried this accident might happen, but thought I was being neurotic, and now that it has happened I feel horrible for not having prevented it.  For several weeks now all of the chickens have been enjoying drinking out of the pond.  Every time I saw them doing it I worried that they might lose their balance, fall in, and drown. I would watch until they were all done and had walked away.  Well, this morning, it seems that Little Silk did actually fall in and drown.

She was such a sweet hen, happy to be picked up and petted, eager to eat from our hands. Just last week I brought her in to Tabby’s nature class for a show-and-tell about chickens. She didn’t mind the children petting her one bit. We still have Big Silk, the rooster, but I’ll be honest, I just don’t feel an attachment to him and he doesn’t like affection.

I’ll miss Little Silk very much and am going to put up some sort of wire blockade so that they can’t drink from the pond anymore.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

7 responses »

  1. She was my favorite too. Very sad

    Reply
  2. Hi, my name is Cissy and I’m new to your blog. As I seem to be getting closer and closer to actually building the aviary and going out this spring for chicks, I run across blogs just like yours that teach me chickens can be more than I first thought. I love all animals but when I saw the children holding little black silky, I think I might have found my connection with chickens. I am so sorry you lost your little black hen; she was very precious. Don’t blame yourself too much. It was just the way it was. Sometimes we can’t be all places at once and sadly, we can’t control everything either. What she did was teach you some great lessons in life and show you that even a little black chicken deserves some love! Take care, give those babies a big hug for me, and I look forward to reading your blog. Happy Spring 2013! ❤

    Reply
    • Hi cissy, thank you so much for your nice comment and for reading! Chickens are great animals to keep. Last spring we got lots of chicks to add to our coop and it was so much fun raising them. I definitely recommend it, even though it’s sad when you lose one.

      Reply
  3. Margaret Simpson

    So sorry Sarah, very sweet pictures of Little Silk.At least she was well loved and had a nice life.

    Reply
  4. I feel your loss. We lost one a few weeks ago and all I could think about was what I could have don, noticed, etc to not have it happen. I took comfort that she is in chicken heaven now pecking at the best grass ever 🙂

    Reply
  5. Oh, poor Little Silk. *hugs*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

