RSS Feed

What’s the buzz?

Posted on

Getting the hives ready
We are adding to our semi-agrarian lifestyle this year with the addition of bees.  Last fall Paul took a beekeeping course and got all informed on how to successfully keep and care for bees. The bees have been ordered and will be arriving in April.  In the meantime he bought the hive boxes.  They arrived plain wood and just needed to be painted to keep them nice and weatherproof.  I learned that they are usually painted white because that keeps them cooler (as opposed to a dark color absorbing sunlight and baking them.)
Getting the hives ready
By the way, I used the word agrarian because I got a new Williams-Sonoma catalog yesterday that is all earthy and called Agrarian and filled with supplies for keeping bees, chickens, making your own cheese, wine, beer, growing mushrooms, and vegetables. I had to mock it because a)now doing farmy things is trendy and hip and b)you are crazy if you buy their very expensive and overpriced things. For example, $13 for 6 blank egg cartons.  When we wanted blank egg cartons we googled chicken supplies and were able to buy a whole box of something like 50 or 100 for a very reasonable inexpensive price (I just checked-100 for $25)

I digress… Anyway, this week is the children’s spring break (or, as Arrested Development fans like to say “the holidays”). We haven’t been doing too much, no travel or anything. Just playing with friends, extra movie watching, and a fair amount of bickering. It’s still so cold, I swear the coldest March in quite a while, but at least we are enjoying some golden spring sunshine. (Still no sign of our frog, this is the latest he’s gone without thawing out and coming out of the pond.)
20130326_110151

Remember in the fall I had Paul build a box around our mailbox and I filled it with dirt and 40 tulip bulbs? Well right now it still mostly looks like dirt, but everything is peeking up:
The tulip bed
I’m definitely looking forward to a little more warmth and some more color outside. I’m ready for some spring blooms!
The egg-o-matic is now open

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

3 responses »

  1. That Williams-Sonoma catalog is one of our favorite things. The prices in there are HILARIOUS. The best is in the spring when they have seedlings — they had single corn seedlings for, like, $15. Raspberry/blackberry canes are, like, $35. The little baby fruit trees are, like, $65! Who buys that??? Needless to say, poring over that catalog is a great source of family entertainment for us.

    Reply
  2. How exciting! I love the idea of keeping bees, so I’ll be (once more) living vicariously though you.

    Reply
  3. I have to agree with Ann. I’ve always wanted bees, but haven’t convinced the family yet. I’m excited to see how it turns out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

