RSS Feed

All Hail the Sun!

Posted on

Well, after the coldest spring in forever the sun has suddenly heated up with a vengeance and we’re enjoying a few days of unseasonably warm weather.  Daffodils have bloomed, as has the forsythia (quite suddenly.) It’s very nice to see pops of color all about the yard.
Vinca Blossom

Daffodil (finally)
Last night it felt like summer so after dinner (burgers on the grill, of course) we abandoned all thoughts of homework and dishes and headed outside to play in the yard.

Dusky Trampolining
Notably missing? Leaves! Trees are still spindly, so there’s no shade. Tabby got a terrible rash from the sun, as she does every year when it suddenly becomes sunny and hot.
Dusky Trampolining

We had an exciting weekend-Tabby had her dance recital pictures taken and enjoyed dressing up in the full ensemble very much.
"Little Miss Sunshine"
Clark got a new bike, a good one. He got a new bike last summer but we didn’t want to spend the money on a really good one until we knew how much he’d want to ride. It turns out quite a bit and since the other bike had a broken brake he got upgraded. We went for a couple rides and I’m looking forward to many more this spring and summer.
Clark & His New Bike

And from last week, one of my favorite pictures so far this spring:
Swing in Spring
Most exciting for me was that I had my first “professional” photography event. I’ve done a few sessions with pets/families, but a friend asked if I could come take pictures at her parents’ 50th wedding anniversary. I was fairly anxious about it since indoors is out of my comfort zone. Paul splurged for me and bought me an external flash for the camera. And wow, did it work. I practiced with it Saturday night and then when I used it on Sunday inside the restaurant it worked great. I thought the pictures came out great and my customer (and the anniversary couple) was really pleased. Hooray!

And finally, we’ve been waiting and watching and yesterday our bullfrog emerged from the pond. This is significantly later than his previous appearances, which I suppose is because of how cold it was. He peeked his head up last night and now this morning he is sitting outside the pond in a little patch of greenery. Welcome back, Big Green Froggie!
He's Back!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

4 responses »

  1. I was a bit worried about your frog – he’s about two weeks late isn’t he?

    My yellow primrose was in bloom this morning – I would swear it didn’t even have buds yesterday! The lilac is opening up, and our forsythia has exploded as well. I LOVE this time of year. Even the thunderstorm we had today made me smile – at least it isn’t snowing!

    Reply
    • I swear our forsythia bloomed almost instantaneously. Isn’t it lovely to see everything suddenly growing and blooming? Possibly more so after the coldest March I can remember. The frog is very late, I was getting worried too! I guess it just didn’t get warm enough for him to wake up.

      Reply
  2. such a lovely inspiring post, what gorgeous snaps too! xxxxxxxxxxxxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

