RSS Feed

Miss Victory-a Patriotic Dress for Molly

Posted on

Patriotic Molly
Oh, I can see how making doll clothes can be quite addictive and fun! For one thing-it’s pretty fast. Unless you’re selling these, there’s really no reason to do really nice seam finishing. Molly won’t complain about a seam itching or fraying, so as long as I trim threads it all seems to be good. I used the same pattern pieces as before, again adding a skirt. And this time it was much faster-I didn’t even have the directions, just remembered how to piece together!
Patriotic Molly
The top is a lovely white fabric with stars on it, the skirt is blue (a bit sheer and maybe a bit short, but she won’t mind), and red ribbon at the waist.  This time I added a ruffle to the sleeve, which I think is nice.
Patriotic Molly
I liked this, but felt like it lacked something. After we took pictures and I dropped Tabby at a friend’s house it came to me-red buttons! A couple red buttons on the front of the blouse part and I think it now looks complete. Now I just need to figure out pants and shorts, and Tabby also has a request in for a nightgown.
Patriotic Molly

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

One response »

  1. I love dolls myself. I’ve made quite a few dolls and for their clothes, I use the remnants of other projects. it’s a great way to use up that last 1/2 yard of fabric.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

