RSS Feed

2013 Garden–Finally In

Posted on

The seeds and plants are finally in, along with the lovely new leaf compost. The chicken wire is repaired and will hopefully keep out the chickens (though the tiny ones are know to just fly in.)
So, here’s the way it was 2 weeks ago:
Clenched Fists and Jutting Jaw
That was after an early spring turning over of the soil and pulling out some weeds. The peas are growing in the upper right bed.
I dug out all the weeds and replaced and replenished with the leaf compost:
The garden
In the bed in the upper left you’ll notice a lot of green-that’s grass clippings. We are going to employ Paul’s dad’s method of grass clippings laid in the bed to prevent weeds. There are four butternut squash seedlings planted in there.
Then, this morning, I planted seeds as well as the gorgeous tomato plants Liz & Eleanor grew from seed. Beautiful varieties and I can’t wait to cook a Goldie this summer.
The garden
I’m feeling really good about following some of our ideas from last year. I’m really hoping the new soil makes a difference. At the very least it certainly won’t hurt and sometimes with gardening you get to a point where you just do what you can and hope for the best.
The bed of flowers that I planted last week has sprouted:
Flower Bed seedlings

And the pond garden is crazy and lush. You might recall that last year I endeavored to almost remove the hosta right in the front because it was so big. I managed to dig out over half of it. Take a look at it now-it’s not one bit smaller!!
Pond Garden
The iris blooming around the pond are gorgeous:
Iris

And finally, Gordon continues to delight us:
Watching

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

5 responses »

  1. Oh my goodness, Miss Sarah, there truly needs to be a “love” button, as every single inch of your post here is sheer joy and love, every bit. You have done a wonderful job, the yard, the garden, the animals, the kids, all of it, you must be magical! New Jersey is truly a garden state if you look at these pictures. Such deep dark soil, I can only imagine, and the green of the grass is superb. The Irises remind me of my grandmother so very deeply and of my mother as well. They always had gobs of them, every spring they were so beautiful… Thank you dear Sarah, for sharing all the beauty that is your life. You are very dear and kind indeed! We share many common interests although I have never had children! haha I can’t tell you how much I look forward to coming again, to visit once more and see what you have done lately. I hope you are aware how very lucky and blessed you are my dear! It looks to me like you must surely live in heaven! haha take care and have a great week! Cissy in central Tejas

    Reply
    • Well thank you! I have to say that our soil is really not very good-very clay like with lots of rocks. We originally filled those beds with topsoil from a nearby garden center. I’m pretty it was not very good dirt. So this leaf compost purchased from another garden center is a big step up for us.

      Reply
      • haha – you have spoiled my fantasy! Burst my bubble, as it would seem…. still, I am very impressed with your work, and I see that even I might achieve something similar as well, haha – still very very lovely!

  2. What part of the country are you in? Lets keep track of each others gardens!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

