RSS Feed

Lush & Vulgar

Posted on

I’m talking about my peonies, of course. They are possibly my most eagerly anticipated garden bloom. I absolutely adore the deep rich pinks and fuschias and the amazing ruffles. They are just a very beautiful flower and, if I’m honest, I’m also really delighted that I have something this successful and pretty in my permanent garden. I have two new bushes this year, but they have yet to bloom.
mosaic peony
Can’t you just see Georgia O’Keefe painting them?
We’ve had some intense weather since getting the garden in yesterday morning-high heat, bright sunshine, gentle rain, torrential downpours. Look what that effect had on the canteloupe seeds planted 36 hours ago:
Fastest sprout ever
Last year at the end of the summer I ordered on sale tomato ladders. When they arrived I stuck them in the garage, still in package, and left them there. How nice to forget about them and then remember just in time! In between rain I managed to get them all in around each of the tomato plants. I love the pop of red!
Laddered Up

I had a visit with my mom this afternoon and greatly admired her garden. It’s very shady and lush-filled with columbines and bleeding hearts, and today with a special surprise…cicadas! I remember these guys from when I was a kid. Bright red eyes, transparent wings, flying around like helicopters, and all over the place. They were perched all over her hostas and other plants and had shed their skins on the astilbe.
IMG_7938

IMG_7940

cicadas are here

Finally, another dress for Molly! This was actually supposed to be for a friend, but I don’t want to give it to her because I don’t think it’s nice enough. This white fabric was perfect in theory, but in reality was all fragile and shreddy and fraying, and it will likely fall apart. I tried out some new techniques-a cuffed sleeve and a Peter Pan collar.
A school dress for Molly

A school dress for Molly

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

4 responses »

  1. The collar came out very well and I like the rickrack.

    Reply
  2. I just adore your peony photos. They are the most beautiful colour and look stunning with the water droplets on them. Great cicada shots too. I used to collect them as a kid and try to get as many different kinds possible. I always let them go after looking at them Do you know what the black one in your photo is called?

    Reply
    • Thank you! I don’t know about the cicada. My mom says they are the 17 year ones, but that doesn’t add up with the last time I saw the 17 years ones. Apparently there are ones that come out more often than that, too. A few years ago they were deafingly loud about 25 minutes away from us, and I can remember as a child practically a plague of them and sweeping them up into big heaps. But I have yet to see one in our own yard.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

