RSS Feed

Cooking & Gardening

Posted on

Some things I’ve been cooking lately:
Strawberry Lemon Bars
Strawberry Lemon Bars-recipe from Better Homes & Gardens
Saturday breakfast-Strawberry Orange Muffins
Strawberry Orange Muffins, an old recipe from Cooking Light, slightly adapted. Strawberries are pureed with some orange juice concentrate
Mexican Lasagna
Mexican Lasagna. I’ve often made something like this, but this one, following a new recipe, was the best yet. The recipe is from a cookbook I got recently called the Mom 100. I feel like I could have written this book-almost every recipe is something I make. So there’s yet another book I wish I had written! Still, I like having this because it is a handy collection of great recipes that are all things we like.
An inspired use
Oatmeal bars-again from that Better Homes & Gardens cookie special magazine publication. For my filling I used a jar of ginger peach jam that I canned last summer. It was so fresh and peachy and spicy gingery that it was a perfect filling. So, another great way to use your canned goods.

In the garden I was finally able to put down some grass on the weeds that were indeed threatening to return full force. Let’s hope it helps. In the meantime the lawn mower was repaired and we took down one of the grass growing fences, so everything looks a lot better. Beets are growing well and tomato plants look great.
First tomato blossoms

Beet seedling

I’ve got a ton of sewing projects to do this week and hopefully I’ll actually do them. The next post better be about a finished item!
The chickens continue to frustrate me. I wish we’d noted when they started sitting. Four broody hens, plus other hens who can’t seem to manage to lay their eggs other places is leading to only getting one or two eggs a day (just when Paul has gotten a few new egg customers) and a lot of cranky hens. After this mess I’m not letting anyone be broody! (Unless they go off discreetly and sit somewhere that is not a popular spot.)

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

4 responses »

  1. Everything looks simply delicious.:)

    Reply
  2. Wow, your food looks amazing! As for your chickens, you can lead a hen to water, but you can’t make it drink! 🙂

    Reply
    • Ha! Too true about those chickens. I ended up cleaning out one of the nests today. Broken, rotting smell shells/eggs, a hen not consistently on. I thoroughly cleaned it and put fresh stuff in so that hopefully the regular layers can get back to business.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

