RSS Feed

Treat yo’self

Posted on

I’ve got to admit-this hasn’t been the best summer. My kids are either “play with me!” or “leave me alone!” I’m totally disappointed with how much they want to look at screens, yet they don’t seem to have the initiative to do anything else on their own.  It sucks to be disappointed in your kids, because it makes you feel guilty. But then they go and call you names and you wonder where you went wrong. And it takes literally five separate trips to the 20-25 minute away car dealer to get your windshield replaced. And while you wait for a new hot water system to be installed every day the water is less and less hot, and less and less of it comes out of the shower head. Can you guess how I’m feeling right about now? Time to treat myself before I completely lose it. I saw this idea in Better Homes & Gardens recently and this morning I spied some bananas on the counter and had to try it. Slice a banana. Make little banana slice sandwiches with peanut butter.
Frozen PBB bites
Freeze. Melt chocolate. Dip them in  and refreeze.
Frozen PBB bites
Holy cow are these delicious. What is it about a frozen banana? The texture, the taste, everything seems different. And with the chocolate and peanut it’s like a delicious frozen taste of heaven.
Frozen PBB bites
I used some Hershey bars and also chocolate chips. I prefer the semi-sweet of the chocolate chips, but am never able to make it melt very smoothly. If you like chocolate, banana, and peanut butter you’ll want to have a little stash in the freezer for yourself so that the next time someone calls you “Stupid!” or “Dumbo!” you can chant “serenity now” to yourself while nibbling on one of these frozen treats.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

One response »

  1. These looks delicious, and I’m sure are well-deserved on your part. I often find myself in admiration of those who have kids, and when I think back to how many times my sister and I whined at my mom that we were BOOOOORRRRRED during summer vacations, I can’t imagine finding the patience to deal with it. Let alone when you’ve got annoying things like broken windshields and water heaters to deal with! Here’s to treating yourself! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

