RSS Feed

Everywhere a Chick, Chick

Posted on

I have to wonder if other people with chickens have as much drama as we do with our broody hens, chicks, and mother hens. So yesterday the mother hatched out two lovely little chicks. In the afternoon she had them out near the coop and in the evening she safely slept with them under the coop (which is fenced in, so she was safe. When she departed the nest a broody black hen immediately took over sitting on the eggs. This morning I woke up and went outside to let everyone out and was delighted to hear a strong peeping underneath the black hen! I ran in to tell everyone and when we came back out the black hen was gone, but there was this:
Of course there's additional chick drama
Unlike last month’s drama this chick was almost fully out of its egg and appeared to be quite strong. We stood around to see if the hen would come back, but she didn’t, so we decided to put the chick under a light. By the way, check out the tip of the chick’s beak-that is its “egg tooth”, which helps it tap its way out of the shell.
Of course there's additional chick drama
It wasn’t long before it had shook off that last bit of eggshell. After a couple of hours it had dried and fluffed up a bit.
Of course there's additional chick drama

Of course there's additional chick drama

I don’t think there’s anything wrong with it as it’s moving about pretty well. I’d love to see it able to join up with the mother and other baby chicks, though I don’t know if that’s going to happen. I brought it over to them and placed it on the ground near them and when it peeped she clucked and seemed interested, but then turned around and showed the other two a bit of food she found. The new one is not up to running around after her yet, but perhaps later today I’ll try again. I’ve wondered about slipping it underneath her tonight while she sleeps, too. It looks exactly like the other two so I don’t think it would be an easy pecking target.

And here’s one more picture-this of the mother and one of her babies doing my favorite chick thing:
My favorite chick activity

Oh, and p.s. we took the eggs away and put them under the lamp (though I fear much too hot) and the black hen returned to that nesting box anyway and is sitting in there all broody.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. Oh I just love these photos. I am an early childhood educator and we bring eggs in an incubator for the children to watch the hatching process. So soft and fluffy. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Broodiness is an incredibly powerful and complex process. Most chicken keepers try to break a broody hen- to stop the broody process- because broody hens do not lay eggs. However, when they are allowed to be broody and hatch eggs, the outcome is awe inspiring.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

