RSS Feed

Tomato and Corn Pie

Posted on

August in New Jersey is all about corn and tomatoes. I’ve got the tomatoes in our garden, but we buy the corn at farm stands or the store (which gets it locally.) Last summer one of the eating highlights was a Tomato and Corn Pie.  It’s entirely possible that over the winter I built up this pie in my head to near mythical proportions–I’ve spent all summer looking forward to making it. Finally, yesterday, I did. First of all, you know I love a pie for dinner, be it quiche, pot pie, single crust, or double crust, a savory pie for dinner feels like the best kind of homemade indulgence. Since I had no photographic evidence of this pie last year I was determined to take a few pictures this time around.
The recipe came from Smitten Kitchen, and is adapted from a Gourmet magazine recipe, and is apparently a Southern treat. The crust is somewhat biscuity in texture, and brushed with melted butter on top it is like having a delicious big biscuit. Into the pie crust you layer: tomatoes, corn, basil, and cheddar cheese. On the very top you spread “lemon mayonnaise.” For me this is the strangest part of the pie. Mayonnaise?! And what’s more-it doesn’t vanish when it cooks-you can still kind of see it, but it becomes transformed into a tangy sauce. Look how unappealing it looks before cooking:
Tomato and Corn Pie
It baked up beautifully, with a nice golden crust. (Hey, how tasty would it be with a little extra cheddar on top of the crust?)
Tomato and Corn Pie

Tomato and Corn Pie
Not that much to look at when cut into, but oh! The tastes! Sweet and tangy and savory and buttery. A strange, rich combination that you will definitely remember all winter. I’m going to say that last year’s pie was better, only because I used Goldie tomatoes.
Tomato and Corn PieOh? and what to serve on the side? A big green salad would be ideal, but we had…more corn, mixed with peas.

 

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

Leave a Reply

