RSS Feed

Adjustments and Updates

Posted on

We’re halfway through the first week of school and all is going well. We’re adjusting to our new routine. My much looked forward to free afternoons haven’t actually been as free as I’d like–I only got to listen to Wait, Wait Don’t Tell Me once while sewing!
hello sewing machine
Hopefully next week I’ll have fewer things to do in the afternoon and can indulge in some uninterrupted sewing time. That said I did lie on the couch eating a Klondike bar and reading a much-anticipated book for a half hour the other day.

The bees are doing very well in their new home. As Paul says they haven’t all left and they haven’t all killed each other, so that’s good.  The day after the swarm removal he returned and was able to add more bees-these were all still clinging to a branch on the ground.  In the new box they are moving over to the frames and continuing on with their busy bee activities. Hooray! Success! (fingers still crossed, I’m not resting easy until we get honey next year.)

In chicken news I’m feeling rather sad this morning-Louise is missing.  I’d been letting her stay outside unsupervised, where she would basically stay by the back door under the shrubs. That way she could scratch around and eat and other chickens were nearby. When I went outside to lock everyone up and put her to bed all the other chickens had already gone into the coop and I couldn’t find her. I called and called but she didn’t come. I’d hoped that she would emerge this morning, but she didn’t. Paul says maybe she wandered off and hasn’t found her way back, but that’s only ever happened with the ducks. It’s hard to think though that a hawk would have come in and gotten her since she was never really out in the open.  I’m hoping she’ll turn up, but I fear she is gone.

Over the weekend the kids also started playing soccer. Paul is coaching both kids’ teams, which they love. Saturday was a beautiful day and they were very excited that their teams won (last year Clark’s team never won once.)
Coach and Kids
It’s very cute to see the kindergarteners playing. I had my doubts about Tabby enjoying this, but she did.
Tabby's Kick

 

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. sorry to hear about Louise.

    Reply
  2. I am getting very attached to your hens through your posts. “Oh no not Louise ! ” I exclaimed out loud , when I read your post. I hope she turns up for you all. Hope you get some sewing time to yourself soon. Cheers Linny

    Reply

Leave a Reply

