RSS Feed

Fabulous Fall

Posted on

All week long I’ve been meaning to write my annual garden review/recommendations post for 2013.  Unfortunately a busy week of appointments, etc kept me from using those school afternoons to blog or sew.  I’ve even been in a photography funk on top of things.  A little while ago I decided that next year I would give up my project 365 on The FairView.  I’m no longer reliable about getting pictures up daily and then I stress about doing a ton all at once. I figured I could tough it out for 3 more months and then in January say goodbye to it and instead create an annual set on Flickr of my personal favorite pictures.  It would still be a good way to look at the year in pictures and see what my favorites were.  Well, apparently I could not tough it out and this week I even mopily just skipped any photos for a couple of days.  I think I’m giving myself permission to let it go.  In the meantime there are various photo challenges on Flickr that I’ve been neglecting.  One of them is a few friends doing a weekly photo challenge.  This week is “My Favorite Thing(s) About Fall.” There are so many things I love about fall that I decided to do a collage.  Our gorgeous maple tree is filled with vibrant greens, yellows, oranges, and reds, and is changing every day.
My Favorite Thing About Fall: #1 Our Beautiful Maple Tree
Some flowers still remain in the gardens.
In case you didn't know--it's fall
And there are some decidedly autumnal flowers, such as mums and the beautiful dark dried rose of the hydrangea.
IMG_2676
So here’s my collage of some of my favorite things about fall.  Many more of my favorites have yet to happen-the first fire, the first sweater-, and some have happened and aren’t pictured-making my favorite chowder, watching hours of new tv, and lighting cinnamonny scented candles. But for now it’s fall foliage, the beautiful different colors in the leaves, having fun with animals in the leaves, and pulling out the seasonal decorations.
OPK My Favorite Things about Fall Challenge
At the risk of being called a soccer mom (really, I don’t think I could be. I mean, I bring a book to games!), I have to say that this year I’m actually enjoying watching the kids play soccer.  Today Clark scored his first goal ever, which was extremely exciting. I was so happy for him and very proud and I think it gave him a boost in confidence in playing.  No goals for Tabby today but I still can’t get over how into the game she is-very aware of all the rules, and very eager to get in there and grab the ball and try to get it in. She is quite a good little player!
Soccer PlayersSoccer Players

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. Your kids are such brilliant athletes! And admit it — you’re totally a soccer mom. You just bring a book to hide behind if anyone glares at you for screaming too much at the coach, right? 😛

    Anyway, I love your fall photos so much! Your house wears fall so well, and needless to say, you make it so festive and wonderful! Also, I admire your willingness to let 365ing go. I think you do a very good job of documenting all the big and little things in your life, so sometimes it’s okay to let a few days go. 🙂

    Reply
    • Why thank you! And my house thanks you, too 🙂 I felt guilty about the 365, but then I thought that I shouldn’t be having guilt over something like that and to lighten up. And I have to say, I feel better for it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

