RSS Feed

Fall Flavors

Posted on

Untitled
Yesterday I finally canned some of the apples we picked a couple of weeks ago. After quite a bit of peeling and slicing it was astonishing what a small dent it made in our vast supply. And then I had canning disasters.  Out of the 9 jars FOUR didn’t seal! Terrible! Fortunately, we turned that delicious failure into an awesome dessert. Which brings me to another entry in “Favorite Thing(s) About Fall”: Fall Flavors.
OPK: Favorite Things about Fall:  Fall Baking
For dinner I roasted butternut squash, which was tossed with really good bacon, sage, orechiette, and parmesan.  Then for dessert we had the warm apples atop vanilla ice cream, and sprinkled with homemade granola. It was fantastic.
OPB: Things I Love about Fall: Autumnal Desserts
This morning I did some delicious fall baking–apple cake with a caramel glaze.  This recipe is usually made in a bundt pan, but I have a cool pan that has 4 smaller cakes for one recipe-perfect as I wanted to give one away and have some for company today.
OPK: Favorite Things about Fall:  Fall Baking

My cousin came to visit and we promptly ate up one of these cakes. Perfect flavors of fall-cinnamon and apples, sweet and spicy. I have no pictures of the inside because they came out blurry, but I can assure it looks yummy on the inside!

 

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

Leave a Reply

