RSS Feed

Happy Thanksgiving (and happy sewing)!

Posted on

Happy Thanksgiving
Happy Thanksgiving! (Well, it was yesterday.) The weather was just right-very cold and sunny.  This was an unusual for Thanksgiving for us as we were joining our family at a restaurant. No dishes, no cooking, no cleaning.  We did have plans to have dessert at my cousin’s house, so I did do a little cooking.  I made a cranberry walnut tart, which you serve with whipped cream and minced crystallized ginger. It was delicious (if I say so myself) as were the pumpkin and apple pies we also had.
Cranberry Walnut Tart

Cranberry Walnut Tart
IMG_3730

Since I wasn’t cooking and cleaning I had plenty of time to finish a new stitching project.  I’ve got a lot of sewing projects lined up to do and over the past couple of weeks we’ve been doing a big cleanup-reorganization-purge of the room that includes my sewing area, and our multipurpose basement room.  Now that the office is all clean and spacious it made it easy to dive on in to some of those sewing projects.  First, I made a dress that I don’t have a picture of yet, but once I hem it and wear it for real I’ll show it off.  And then, for fun, I decided to make a little embroidered pincushion.  It’s pictured on the cover of Aimee Ray’s Doodle Stitching, which I’ve had for months and never made anything from yet. This project turned out to be simple and satisfying.  The one in the book is more of a pastel palette, but I had to just go with what my mom had in her wool felts, and I actually love how it turned out. [side note: There appear to be no stores around here that sell pieces of wool felt, which is a total drag, because even though there are plenty of places to buy online you can’t just run out and pick up one small piece for a project.]
Merry mushroom pincushion

Merry mushroom pincushion

 

Now that I’ve got this technique down I can see myself making more of these little pincushions with other designs on them! Happy long weekend (if you get one.) And, now that Thanksgiving is over, we’ll be diving headlong into……CHRISTMAS season!!! Our dear little Elf on the Shelf made his return today (our elf doesn’t do crazy things like some people’s-he just shows up and we have fun finding him each day, and it’s become a nice tradition for us) and we’ll be getting decorating soon.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

One response »

  1. Very cute pincushion! I’m with you on the felt problem: I’ve promised to make replacement boiled egg cosies for my sister and her husband out of embroidered felt, but there’s nowhere here that sells small pieces in pretty colours…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

