RSS Feed

Handmade Christmas

Posted on

mosaic handmade 2013

This year I made a lot of gifts to give. It started with the mushroom pincushion from Doodle Stitching. I was so charmed by this embroidery project that I ended up making two mushroom ones, as well as one with an ocean motif, and one with bunnies. I love how these came out and they were fun to make. And, look! My mom was inspired and made me one too!
IMG_4338
Also from Doodle Stitching came the idea of painting a watercolor picture and using embroidery to outline the pictures. I followed the pattern design for this cute squirrel and put it in a frame (without the glass.) I liked it so much that I also made little drawings of my own design to turn into gift tags that could be turned into ornaments.  I also stitched an ornament, made peppermint bark for teachers, and made a fleece throw for a niece by simply stitching a binding on to a nice piece of fleece.

The biggest project I did was make a kimono for my friend Mary Lynn.  It all started when I saw this spectacular blue and red fabric in the clearance section of PQW.

IMG_4413

I had admired it when I was looking for fabric for my own kimono, so when I saw it on sale I had to get it.  Then it turned out I didn’t have enough to make the pieces. But! That was good because I had just enough of my red staple dress fabric to use for the coordinating bits, which really is what makes this looks so good. I love how it came out-perfect for feeling a little exotic while lounging with your coffee.  I hope my friend has many happy years wearing it.

IMG_4414

The most creative project I did was for Paul.  Paul is a wonderful artist, but has said that his biggest obstacle is just thinking of what to do (and then taking the time to do it.) He wondered if I could give some sort of “year of creativity” of ideas for him.  He didn’t really need art supplies, but I got a new sketchbook, some charcoals, and a watercolor book.  In that I did this painting:

IMG_4418

And then subsequent pages give a challenge for each month, with some bonus ideas at the end, including the end-of-year directive to choose his favorite project and have something made out of it.

And speaking of making things out of art, I also got for myself two more color collage mugs. I loved the orange one I did a couple years ago and have always wanted more colors.  Since I have color sets on Flickr its easy to choose an assortment of photos with a predominant single color and put them together in a collage mug over at Snapfish. I love how they look. This year I did a purple and yellow one. Before you know it all of our mugs will be sporting my photos!

And a lovely homemade gift I received was from Paul-two full discs of songs specifically selected from me from the past few years of All Songs Considered. I don’t often seek out new music for myself, so I absolutely loved it that he took the time to sort through and choose things he knew I would like. I’ve already listened to each disc several times!

It was a crafting happy Christmas. I already know the next project I‘ll be working on for next year.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

Leave a Reply

