RSS Feed

Brrrr

Posted on

This polar vortex is nuts! We’ve got it fairly balmy here in NJ compared to the midwest, but it’s still awfully cold-10 degrees today.  It got so cold two days ago that we had to give up our fireplace only heating method and turn on the heat. Not so much for ourselves, but because our kitchen pipes froze (note: this didn’t actually solve the problem and they froze again the next day.) The chickens are standing around fluffed up and I brought Gordon inside today (though he didn’t actually seem bothered by the cold.)
Gordon and Liesl
Pippin loves the cold, but I won’t let him stay outside for very long in this.  I caved this afternoon and brought him to the field for a short and very cold walk.  Afterwards I headed over to the bridge to take a couple of pictures.
Polar Vortex
That was when I really felt the bitter winds and lasted about 3 minutes before I ran back to the car with my face and fingers freezing.  But I did take some pictures of the river filled with ice and this merganser duck happily swimming and diving in the freezing waters.
Polar Vortex

This afternoon I was able to get back to a project I’ve been looking forward to-the scrappy prism quilt.

ahhhh
I pieced together the top and I am loving it. I think the colors really pop against the white. Unfortunately I ran out of my white fabric before I fully finished.
Ta-da!
I ended up making the spaces between the blocks bigger than I originally thought I would (I want to make sure that overall it’s big enough to snuggle under.) So, once I go pick up some more of this white I’ll be adding a strip around the perimeter-maybe 3 or 4 inches. The Dresden plate is pinned in place and just needs to be stitched on, and then the center appliqued on top of that. There is a lot of white space in this quilt, which I’m thinking will be filled with free motion quilting. If I decide it’s too much white I could always do embroidery of some sort, too. I’m so happy to see this coming together!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

One response »

  1. If you’ll send some of that cold air down here, I’ll send up some of our 93F daytime temperatures… deal? Love your rainbow Dresden plate, btw!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

