RSS Feed

Learning to Sew

Posted on

The worst of the cold is gone and two of the chickens have returned to sleeping outside at night. During the bitterest cold nights earlier this week a few of the roosters (the handsome new young ones) got frostbite on their floppy combs. You can tell because it is blackened.
Frostbite

Yesterday Tabby made her first project on the sewing machine.  I had let her use the pedal for me before, but she’d never actually used it all by herself. When my friend Jen mentioned her daughter had done it, I thought, “What am I waiting for?” (By the way, I feel terrible that I’m very consciously teaching Tabby how to sew and cook, which is fine, but then I think, but I didn’t do that with Clark that’s so sexist of me!  But the fact is, I have tried with Clark and he is just not very interested. Though he did make most of our Christmas carrot cake. )

One of the things Santa had brought Tabby was a doll bed for Molly. It came with a beautiful coverlet, but no cover for the pillow or mattress.  I thought making a little pillowcase and sheet would be a simple project. And I happened to have some beautiful yellow and blue fabric which looks like it was made to go with it. She did a pretty good job!
Learning to Sew

Though she did get a bit tired of it (seriously, it was all of like 7 seams) and I had to do part of it.  She enjoyed the ironing of the fabric and claimed it was “relaxing.”
Learning to Sew

Learning to Sew
Congrats Tabby!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

One response »

  1. Nice bedding! And good bed-making skills too… Dolly will be pleased, I think.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

