RSS Feed

Scrappy Prism Quilt Top

Posted on

I’ve just finished the top! Earlier this week I began piecing the blocks together with the white. Would you believe I ran out of my white fabric and had to take a trip to PQW to get more? (That’s ok because they had big pieces of fabric on sale and I got two four yard pieces of really nice fabric for just $12 each.)
The finished top
So, in between each of the 11″ square block is a pretty big section of white. There is a 3″ border of white all around. And in the middle I appliqued the Dresden plate.
The Dresden Plate and center are hand appliqued

The Dresden Plate and center are hand appliqued
I am so thrilled with the black and white center, which I just finished stitching on. Look, Liesl loves it too!
Liesl is as thrilled as I am by the black and white center print
Overall, I really like this. There are bigger expanses of white than I’d thought there would be and they are crying out to be quilted in a really beautiful way.  Originally I was going to free motion machine quilt this, but now I’m considering hand quilting a design (possibly Dresden plate type design.)
The finished top

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

5 responses »

  1. How about a Baptist Fan for the quilting? It would echo the Dresden Plate design, is fairly quick to do, and looks really good. Beautiful colours, and the black and white centre really works well.

    Reply
  2. Oh I love your quilt. It is so bright and colourful. Looking forward to seeing how you quilt it. 🙂

    Reply
  3. It is beautiful! I can’t wait to see how you quilt it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

