RSS Feed

Cheerful Winter Stitching

Posted on

Embroidered Cake Potholder
Isn’t this a nice bright spot of sunshine for a kitchen in January? There’s just something about the bright pinks and greens I love when there is snow all around.  I had this embroidery transfer pattern from a pad of Sublime Stitching patterns and transferred it to a charm pack square. Some beautiful bright scraps made a nice border and then I began stitching.
The pattern is just the outline so it was up to me to figure out how to add some dimension and texture to the image. I used a couching stitch (I think that’s what it is??) for the cake stand, which looked just as I hoped it would. And clusters of French knots to make the cherries on top.
Embroidered Cake Potholder
Some pink binding and a chance to practice some machine free motion quilting around the edge (I left square with the embroidery untouched) and voila!
Embroidered Cake Potholder
The batting is Insul-brite, so you can use it for actual potholder use, or just hang it up to be adorable. I gave this to a friend I was having lunch with, but might make one for me, too.

I also finally made a fancy dress for Tabby’s doll, Molly.  I found a red velvet skirt in a bag of handed down to me craft supplies and thought it would be perfect for doll clothes.  I cut it so that I could use the already done nicely serged hem and attached it to the top, which I made from the glittery stuff I used for Tabby’s Halloween costume. A giant gold and white button is the perfect accent for the waist.
A Fancy Dress for Molly

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

One response »

  1. That potholder is so lovely! The colors are such a bright, refreshing break from winter. And what a great doll dress!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

