RSS Feed

The Chicest Flannel Ever

Posted on

Back in the fall I bought McCall’s 6388 to make a tunic/dress for Tabby.  I picked out a very soft plaid flannel for the fabric and envisioned her wearing it all winter. Well….it took me a while to get around to making this, but I finally did and given how cold it is she’ll probably still get a fair amount of wear out of it. (and it’s a tad long so I’m really hoping she’ll be able to wear it next year too.)
Chic in Flannel
I did a crap job with the buttonholes because I’m somehow incapable of using the automatic buttonhole maker on my machine. However, you don’t even notice because the buttons are so lovely.  I bought them a long time ago knowing I’d eventually put them on a girl’s garment, and this was just the right usage for them.
Chic in Flannel
What I really like about this pattern is the fancy two part sleeves (and the extra half length ruffle.)  A pretty normal top of the sleeve, followed by a poofy gathered lower half, ending in a bound wrist. The motto of this garment’s construction was “if a job is worth doing, it’s worth doing right.” I repeated this to myself after I sewed the yoke on backwards and contemplated just making it work because I’d already trimmed the seam down and sewed not one, but two, lines of stitching on each side.  I did unpick the whole thing and sew it on properly and I’m glad I did.  Likewise, when I did the sleeve cuff I hand stitched the binding on the inside.
Chic in Flannel

The inside is filled with quite a few threads and I think I need to trim down the seams a bit more and snip some of my many threads, but from the outside it looks good. Plus she reports that it is soft and cozy.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

4 responses »

  1. Man, it is sooooo hard to stomach that “if a job’s worth doing, it’s worth doing right” motto in the moment – BUT – I agree, I have learned that if I don’t fix mistakes as I go, I will never be happy in the end! Great job – I love the buttons. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Lovely fabric and a great choice of garment to showcase the fabric. Buttonholes are so hard to get perfect, I make about 10 on scrap fabric, for practice before I do the real ones. You did a great job. 🙂

    Reply
  3. It’s so cute! I think most sewers (there has to be an alternate word for this) have had a project like that, where every piece seems determined to fight you. I usually end up putting the project in time out until I have had enough time away from it to face the unpicking. In other areas of life I tend to push through, but with sewing, that strategy is sure to lead to tears! Anyway, this is terrific!

    Reply
  4. Thank you everyone! I really appreciate your comments 🙂 The best part about this project was that a couple weeks ago when I went to do it, I discovered that back in the fall I had already cut out the pattern pieces (a task I hate), so it seemed like the hardest part was already done.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

