RSS Feed

Let’s Just Agree to Pretend It’s Fully Spring

Posted on

Come on Spring, I know you can do it! It’s been yet another chilly week, but I consider my mom’s birthday the first spring event, so when we celebrated on Tuesday I made it as springy as possible, despite it being 30 degrees outside.
Spring, I command you to arrive!
The menu: Roast Pork, Roasted Asparagus, Twice Baked Potatoes (I think I made these last year for her birthday, too. They are the perfect special occasion indulgence), and a Orange-Red Onion Salad.
Happy Birthday, Mom!
Mom, Clark, & Tabby
For dessert…Sour Cream Lemon Pie.
mmm...crust
This pie is awesome and many thanks to Pam, the friend who gave me the recipe. Bright and tangy and lemony, as spring desserts ought to be. And how much do I love making lemon curd with egg yolks from our girls’ eggs? Very much. I got 6 eggs the other day, and 4 yesterday. Everyone is laying more and the boys are filled with spring fever. Eight roosters is really too much and I’d love to find home for four of them (the four identical ones, whom I like to think of as singing group, which would of course be called “The Four Cocks.”) Little Quicksilver and Crooky Beak like to lay their eggs in the feed barrel when possible.
This looks like a nice place to lay an egg

It doesn’t quite feel like it, but spring is slowly and surely on its way. The snow is gradually melting, the chickens are excitedly discovering patches of ground, and look-proof!
Proof
Of course, the past 4 years this was the week when our Big Green Froggie would emerge. Not so this year. The pond is still covered in a foot of two of snow and ice.
Today it’s warming up, a perfect day to tap the maple tree! (But I don’t think we will because we’re off to a highly anticipated annual event-the Pie Day celebration!!)

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

One response »

  1. Margaret Simpson

    What a lovely Springy post. I think its almost safe to return to NJ. I love the rooster quartet, the 4 Cs, hope you find them a home.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

