RSS Feed

Tap, Tap

Posted on

I'll tap that
Yesterday Paul tapped the maple tree. This year we’re tapping our big tree again, as well as a few across the street. Wonder what the neighbors make of that? It seems a bit late in the year, but this cold cold everlasting winter has definitely pushed some things back.  For example, there’s no way our bullfrog is emerging from the pond for quite a while, and when I look back at the past blog posts he has always appeared in the first week of March.

Other signs of spring are showing themselves in the chicken coop.  In addition to the super randy roosters, yesterday one of the Buffys went broody.  I took the eggs away, of course. And egg production continues to increase-6 eggs collected yesterday.
Spring laying

I haven’t been baking much the past couple months, but yesterday indulged in making a loaf of cinnamon bread with a nice swirl and crusty cinnamon top.
Cinnamon Bread
Making this was mostly prompted by still having buttermilk in the house from the Irish soda bread on Monday. I used this recipe, which was good, although I would add a good 1/2 tsp of kosher salt to it next time. I pulled it out of the oven right before the kids got home and it was super satisfying to hear them shout “mmmm! Something smells great!” when they came in.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

Leave a Reply

