RSS Feed

Changes Afoot

Posted on

teeny tiny daffodil
It’s been two weeks since I’ve posted anything, though on my walks with the dog I often write posts in my head. The boring reason is that I’ve actually been keeping up the momentum of cleaning, organizing, purging and that’s what I’ve done on most afternoons. I wish I had before and after pictures to show you of the basement, but since I considered it an embarrassing eyesore no before photos exist. So you will have to trust me that the basement room is now a lovely room with the books organized and accessible, and the main basement part is much better too.  Although certain people have always expressed shock at “how much stuff” we have, the simple fact behind why we have so much stuff in our basement is that we don’t really have reasonable closets in our bedrooms, we don’t have a linen closet, and we just don’t really have other places to store stuff. Add to that one person who likes to collect, one who is sentimental, two people who think it’s silly to throw something away that is still useful or good, and one person who would then be in charge of figuring out what to do everything and finds it a pain in the ass to do so, and you’ve got lots of stuff in your basement to just deal with some day. Well, that day came. And it was physically tiring, and also completely mentally tiring.  Sorting through baby clothes overwhelms me with nostalgia and memories of when my kids were sweet babies.  Then I found all my old work things and then sent me down a rabbit hole of thinking about how I used to be really good at what I did, and while I’ve not missed working, I have very much missed feeling successful. But overall, even though you might still think our house is messy, it’s a comfortable messy I like and getting the basement under control has truly made me feel so much happier about our home. And now, we can turn our attention to the outside.
It’s fully spring and we’re thinking about the garden and yard. We made the big decision to fence in our chickens. I’ve been thinking about it for weeks (this didn’t seem to be an issue for Paul, he was fine with things). On the one hand, it truly brings me pleasure to see them roaming about, seeing them so happy in the yard, in trees, and so on. Plus, it’s good for them.  On the other hand, we have so many extremely large sections of lawn that are nothing but dirt, that I think it would be really hard to plant grass, fence it, and attempt to grow it (we did a small patch last summer.) So we’ve decided to give it a year (or at least a summer) of fencing them in and really focusing on growing some grass.  I got over the anthropomorphizing woes (“I’ll feel so sad for them if they can’t have every aspect of the outdoors to enjoy.”), but am still worried that without full range their eggs won’t be as tasty.  And tasty they are. They are laying very well right now and they are so delicious. But, this afternoon we are installing the fencing.

Other random thoughts that didn’t make it in over the past two weeks:

a hen died quite suddenly
there’s definitely no frog in our pond, so we’ll be starting anew with fish and frogs
I got my peas in
Paul repaired our garden fence by putting in an arch that I hope he will paint something charming on
Clark and I saw a cat dragging a squirrel it had killed and we were fascinated
I’m finding myself still surprised and grateful with every day of good weather we have
Tabby has ridden her bike on the road a few times and done very well
last weekend the kids went to a science day at the 4-H center and that was fun
Clark sang in his class’s concert
and for the first time in years we got our taxes in before the 15th, so hooray for us

And now, the photos of spring at our house:
What are you doing out there?

spring trampolining

Rain Kissed

Springtime baking

Portraits with Pippin

IMG_6615

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

3 responses »

  1. I LOVE the photo of your bunny, chicken and eggs! That would be a wonderful notecard.

    Reply
  2. Your easter eggs are so impressively decorated! Just lovely!

    I imagine that it must be challenging to not have the tangible/measurable successes that you would’ve had in your library work. Rest assured that from my perspective, though, you have a million successes and are generally what I would call a big success! I’ll admit that in my less successful-feeling moments at work, I daydream about getting to live your life! (in a non-creepy way, I promise) 🙂

    Reply
    • Thank you Anne!! You’re not creepy at all 🙂 I only wish I had decorated those eggs myself-they are wooden eggs with a shiny lacquer paint on them. Some sort of traditional Polish Easter item that we get at the Polish deli (since I come from the WASPyest of backgrounds I enjoy latching on to Paul’s Polish background)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

