RSS Feed

Don’t Fence Me In

Posted on

“Give me lands, lots of land, Under starry skies above, don’t fence me in…” I’m sorry chickens, but you’re getting fenced in. So after much discussion we did decide to fence in for a summer or a year and give ourselves an opportunity to have our lawn and gardens be a bit restored. Yes, you can garden and have free range chickens, but here are some things I’m looking forward to this summer:

Re-mulching the butterfly garden and having it stay there
Sweeping the driveway and having it remain free of chicken poop so that when you play basketball you don’t have to worry about poop getting on the ball
Not having that moment where the chickens accidentally get in the garden and scratch up all your seedlings

We removed the front fence and swung it out to the side, added a few more posts and some wire.
The new chicken run
So it starts with the same area with the henhouse is, but goes out further. Β As of now they can easily fly up to the top of the fence, and I expect they will. We can add some chicken wire to the top to keep them from flying out, or clip their wings. It was hard to dig up the fence-especially the main post that had been put in a Big Gulp cup of cement.
to our surprise one of the posts was sunk into a Big Gulp cup of cement. It was tremendously difficult to remove!
This pen was originally a pig pen when we bought the house, so it is pretty sturdy.

I will miss having them follow me to the garage for their feed, seeing them in the Japanese maple, and seeing them glide across the late summer lawn like prairie schooners. Tomorrow morning they are in for a very rude awakening. But that said, I’m pretty excited about this development and the chance to do some different gardening this year. Β I know my legions of readers (ha, ha) will be happy to know that today ended much better than yesterday, and we are all tired, sunburned, and happy tonight. We even managed to find another geocache on our way home from rewarding ourselves with Italian ice. πŸ™‚

 

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

7 responses »

  1. Hi Sarah! Thanks for sharing this place with us … now we have a new adventure to add to our list of things to do in the area. I’ve lived in NJ and spent much time in PA all my life and had never heard of this place before. So, naturally, I’ve had to do a little search and check out this gem that I found! Twinkle Twinkle played on the rocks! Enjoy. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zEP9r4QqUWM

    Reply
    • Oh Toni you must take a trip there-it’s so cool! (We’re going to one of your favorite places this weekend-Grounds for Sculpture.) That is so awesome how they found the different notes to play Twinkle, Twinkle! We were not very tuneful at all, just banged around πŸ™‚

      Reply
      • Have a wonderful time at GFS! Have you read about the changes happening around the place? They are expanding the visitor center and “BIG” happenings coming out in the meadow! πŸ˜‰ You won’t be able to walk the meadow yet, but for sure you’ll see what’s happening! You’ll have to plan a visit during the summer to be sure you see Marilyn in all her 40 foot tall glory!

  2. Oh shoot, this posted to the wrong page .. meant for your Ringing Rocks post. Sorry.

    Reply
  3. I for one am very much enjoying and looking forward to this type of post! Since we are in an apartment until we find a house we like, I need to live vicariously through your DIY and gardening experiences! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. “and seeing them glide across the late summer lawn like prairie schooners…” There’s a line something like that in Gone Away Lake by Elizabeth Enright. It’s always so comforting knowing people who have read the right books.

    Reply
    • could there be a better compliment than that? πŸ™‚ Wait until you see what I’ve named my new quilt-you’re going to love it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

