RSS Feed

Chicken Run

Posted on

It’s been two weeks since we fenced in the chickens and it has not been an easy adjustment. I’ve been surprised to discover just how inconvenient it is to open and close the gate behind me while trying to feed them, visit Gordon, bring treats, fetch water (another change-if I was lax about filling the waterers it was no big deal because I knew they all liked to drink from the pond and puddles, but now I need to keep on top of the fresh water), and collect eggs. I feel like it’s cut down on me doing all of those things.  The other thing is that 5 of them did not remain contained and slipped out under the gate/flew over the fence every day.  This weekend Paul added height to the fence and fixed the gate  so it’s easier to close and also they can’t slip under it. And yet….those five are out again.
Looking In
So how are they getting out?  I’d say that those five don’t matter, but I saw Crooky Beak in the garden scratching where I planted the beet seeds, ruining anything that may have sprouted (as far as I could tell nothing had.) So, we’re feeling a bit frustrated. I feel like I need to replant the garden but it’s not worth doing until we get them under control. Also, we can’t start the grass seeding until they are all contained either. But by far the biggest down side has been having eight roosters penned in. Specifically, the Four C’s. Without wide open spaces they are fighting quite seriously with each other and have bloodied one another quite a bit. One of them is one of the five who gets out and if things get crazy I put another one out.

IMG_7189

A happy pro of the fenced in area is that it’s been really fun to let Gordon run around in it. He jumps and leaps and frolics and seems to enjoy running directly into a group of chickens and making them fly up into the air.
Even though I’m feeling down about the yard/garden at least the tulips are looking very pretty, the red leaves on the Japanese maple are opening, and the peas are growing well (though I should have planted twice as many.)
Early Evening Tulips

Tulips

I absolutely love the bright greens and yellows that are all around right now.
Spring Yellow & Green

Goldfinch

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

One response »

  1. I like that feeder at the end if your post. Are beaks long enough to get in there? I assume it is to keep squirrels out?

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Reply

Leave a Reply

