RSS Feed

Let’s Get Quilting

Posted on

Yesterday I took a little trip to Pennington Quilt Works to make use of my birthday coupon. Since I have lots of lovely fabrics from there that I have yet to use, I thought that I would focus on maybe getting a book or pattern, and just a fat quarter or two. Well, I didn’t really want any of the books or patterns, and I ended up getting a half yard of a fabric that I insanely drawn to-birdhouses! orange and pink and green! and a few coordinating fat quarters. I’m thinking maybe some big decorative pillows for the living room? I’m very torn about a pattern. Maybe a round sprocket pillow (basically a dresden plate)? I don’t know. I’m sure whatever I come up with I will love just because it will let me look at these fabrics every day.
20140428_145511

I also treated me/Tabby to a yard of Heather Ross’s Briar Rose in a jersey to make a nightgown for Tabby. And to make the outing more fun first I met my friend Liz for lunch and then dragged her to find a geocache. (In the winter I also met her for lunch, was telling her about geocaching, tried to find one with her, but duh-there was snow everywhere. So I was determined to return in spring and get it.)

Today it’s been dark, wet, and cold.  So much so that I built a nice cozy fire and immediately felt very homey. I was also feeling very inspired from the fabric trip.  I realized how nice it would be to have my choice of

1. garment sewing
2. embroidery (Paul got me an awesome design for my birthday)
3. hand quilting (I sincerely hope I can finish the scrappy prism quilt by next spring)
4. piecing together another quilt (or the like) with the fabrics I got for Christmas, or, making pillows or something with the fabrics I got yesterday.
I’ve been toying with the idea of a disappearing nine-patch for a while and decided that using one of my Christmas charm packs for that would be a good way to try it out. First I arranged the squares into 4 nine patch blocks.
IMG_7265
Then I sewed them up, pressed them, and…cut them into quarters. This is what they looked like:
IMG_7266
Then began the fun of playing and arranging.
IMG_7269
IMG_7267
IMG_7272
And then just when I thought I had decided, I changed them around and think this is what I’ll go with:
IMG_7278
The thing about these charm pack quilts is that they rely on a lot of background fabric (white usually) which I don’t really have hanging around. Actually, I do have some leftover white from the prism quilt. With this arrangement I’m thinking white sashing and a square border of navy blue. I’m hoping to actually do this fairly quickly and machine quilt it and have it as a nice summer quilt for the couch.
And then, after I did that, I thought to myself, “Why am I making all these new projects when I never even finished the snowball quilt I started two years ago?” So I pulled out that fabric and to my absolute surprise discovered there are 38 completed squares and all the other squares are already cut out. There’s really no excuse for me not to quickly sew up the rest of the blocks (It’s a mere 4 diagonal seams on each block) and put this thing together.
IMG_7279
IMG_7281
I forgot how much I love these pretty fabrics and am feeling very inspired to get going on these projects!
About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

4 responses »

  1. Oh, all this fabric is simply gorgeous! And inspiring! That birdhouse fabric is so awesome – I’ve never seen it before!

    Reply
    • Thanks Anne. I just finished sewing the blocks together and I love them. And even though I was working with machine cut all exactly even 5″ squares I still managed to have things end up slightly uneven! 🙂 The birdhouse fabric is from dearstelladesign, called Birdhouses.

      Reply
  2. I love Pennington Quilt Works! Their selection is amazing! I love your disappearing nine patch as well ! Now you have inspired me !
    Be Well !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

