RSS Feed

Quilt Progress

Posted on

My enthusiasm hasn’t waned for my new projects and I’ve been busily stitching, assembling, and laying out.  It turns out that I had a lot of the snowball quilt already completed!  So thank you, Sarah of the past.
Snowball quilt stack
In fact, it looks like I have quite a bit of fabric left.  The biggest challenge here has been trying to decide how to arrange the blocks. After much arranging and re-arranging, this is what I’ve decided on: (and it totally looks ugly and color weird here, which is why you have the nicer picture up top to show what these fabrics really look like.)
Untitled
This is going to be for our bed so I’ve been struggling with size as well-if I want that center in the center then I do make the top longer? That sort of thing. I think I’m going with this and then if I really want to I can add to the top and bottom. And with the hundreds of tiny cut off triangles created from the making of the blocks I will make some kind of decorative border.

 

As for the other one, I’m in a bit of a holding pattern as I wait to get just the right fabric for the borders. I’m worried this has too much white space on it and hope that a big bold apple green border next to a yellow or blue border, will make this read as a more colorful quilt, rather than blocks floating in white. (Besides, the prism quilt already has blocks floating in white.)

charm pack top
blue-green block
You know who has been thrilled with my return to quilting? Liesl. She has supersonic kitty senses that let her know when fabric is being spread out and she comes darting in, rolls around on the squares, bats them around,  and invites me to play with her. She also loves the pincushion and immediately starts biting the pins and pulling them out and spitting them out. So naughty! So cute!
Who's most excited about my return to sewing?
In other news it rained so much that we had a delayed opening today because so many roads were flooded and closed! It’s pretty amazing to see when the river gets so high and wild. But now, in the afternoon, it’s brilliantly sunny and warm and all the flowers are basking in the sun. Earlier they were all damp and covered in lovely beaded raindrops.
Rainy Tulips

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

One response »

  1. These quilts are looking great! We have a store-bought quilt (the plainest quilt of all time – it’s just chocolate brown with same-color stitching) on our bed and I would love to make us one myself. I haven’t decided to jump in to that project yet, though. 🙂 That tulip shot is terrific! I am really missing seeing things come up this year – I need to find some public places with flowers so I can live vicariously. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

