RSS Feed

Happy Birthday, Paul!

Posted on

Today is Paul’s birthday and this post is all about the food I made for him. 🙂  We started the day with the usual gifts at breakfast, and of course a nice breakfast of the birthday person’s choice. In his case, poached eggs. Since it’s a Thursday he had to to off to work while I bustled about at home making the birthday dinner.  On Saturday we’re planning to do an outing of whatever he’d like to do, but for today it was all about the festive birthday dinner. On the menu: homemade pierogies.  Now, I’m not Polish at all, but we do embrace the cultural heritage on Paul’s side in terms of food.  I was pretty hesitant about this and steeled myself for uncooperative dough and falling apart pierogies, but in fact it all went well.  It did take a while to assemble them, but the dough (made with sour cream) was fairly pliant, easy to roll out, and generally agreeable.  The filling was a potato cheddar.  I made two big cookie sheets full and froze them.
Homemade Pierogies
Then, to cook I dropped them in boiling water and cooked until they floated. Served with fried onions and a nice ring of kielbasa from the Polish market.
Homemade Pierogies
For dessert Paul requested a chocolate cake with peanut butter frosting. This didn’t sound super appealing to me, but he’s the birthday boy. And you know what? It was delicious. For the cake I used the recipe on the back of the box of Hershey’s cocoa. Terrific taste and a good texture.  It was extremely similar in result to a boxed cake mix cake.  The frosting was a simple butter-creamy peanut butter-confectioner sugar combination I got off of allrecipes.com

I frosted..
Birthday Cake
decorated the top with cocoa polka dots (fun to say)
Birthday Cake
And it was really yummy.
Birthday Cake
If you are a milk drinker I imagine you would want a big glass of milk with this.  I just had water and a chocolate covered strawberry.
Chocolate Covered Strawberries

Happy Birthday, Paul! I hope you had a great day and felt treasured–because you are 🙂

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

One response »

  1. Margaret Simpson

    Yummy! Happy Birthday Paul. Those pirogues look really great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

