RSS Feed

Thimble Summer

Posted on

I was able to get to Joann’s today to pick out fabric for the borders of the quick quilt I’m making out of one of my Christmas charm packs.  I knew I wanted an apple green and dark blue border and brought with me a scrap of green fabric that I wished I had more of and could have used. I walked in the store, pulled my scrap out and said to my friend, “I’d like to find something similar in color and style to this.” And then we both noticed…an entire bolt of that exact fabric on top of the unit next to us. How crazy is that? It was clearly out of place, just left there, and it was exactly what I wanted. Could there have been a clearer sign from the sewing god that it was the perfect fabric?   We pretty quickly found the perfect dark blue.  Both fabrics are a really nice quality, very soft.  When I got home I immediately cut the strips (4 1/2 ” wide) and sewed them on. I couldn’t be more pleased!
Completed top!

Don't the borders look especially great next to this block?
I was still slightly troubled by that white in the middle. However, I’ve had an inspiration. I’d planned on machine quilting this quilt, but given the style of it, I think it’s well suited to being tied instead. I could use green and/or blue floss to make the little knots.

As for the backing….I wasn’t planning on getting anything special, but there were a lot of lovely fabrics to choose from similar to this vintage appealing style. I got two yards of a lovely blue with red and cream dots. Doesn’t it look nice?
Backing (against a block)
And finally, while I was enjoying sewing the strips on I was thinking about a name for the quilt. I thought how summery and cheerful it is, and how it also reminds me of the 1930s. A-ha! Thimble Summer. In case this doesn’t immediately ring a bell for you and evoke little girls named Opal, Garnet, Pearl and Ruby on hot summer days, then let me direct you to the 1939 Newbery Award winning book by Elizabeth Enright, Thimble Summer. A lovely classic.

thimble

 

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

6 responses »

  1. Oh, that green fabric is indeed perfect! I love the contrast with the white and the blue fabrics as well. And Thimble Summer! I re-read that while taking an online Newbery class with KT Horning a few years ago, and I just have good memories surrounding it. What a perfect name!

    Reply
  2. The quilt looks great !!! Don’t you love when you find exactly what your looking for !!! Especially when it comes to fabric ! I’m so sorry about pippin , I lost my puppy 2 yrs ago …. I miss him always. Thanks for the lead fir the book, I’ve never heard of it before .

    Be well
    Donna

    Reply
    • Thank you Donna! It is a nice feeling when you find just the perfect thing, isn’t it? And thanks about Pippin. It’s getting easier each day, but he’s definitely left a hole in our lives.

      Reply
  3. Your quilt is looking great Sarah. 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks Linny! I tied it and trimmed it and just need to do the binding. Unfortunately we’re having a big yard sale this weekend which is taking away from my time to finish it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

