RSS Feed

Thimble Summer-finished!

Posted on

The Thimble Summer quilt is complete! I buckled down this morning and did all the stitching on the binding. Voila!
Thimble Summer-finished!
I’m delighted with this simple and cheerful quilt for the summer. The blocks are a disappearing nine-patch.  I used a charm pack, plus additional fabric (not from the same line) for the borders and backing.
Thimble Summer-finished!
The binding is the same fabric as the back, as I really liked it.
Thimble Summer-finished!
Instead of quilting it, I tied it, using a random placement of blue and green embroidery floss knots.  I didn’t even baste it–just laid out my quilt sandwich on carpeting and very carefully did all the knots in one go.   It took the length of listening to The Producers soundtrack. It’s about 60″ square, which should be just right for cool nights watching tv.
Thimble Summer-finished!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

4 responses »

  1. You’ll be pleased to know that your quilt inspired me to reread the book. 🙂 Have you read it to Tabby?

    Reply
  2. The quilt looks wonderful1 I am hoping to get my quilting back on this summer !

    Reply
  3. Congratulations on this beautiful quilt! I love the fabrics you chose for this. The back is just as lovely as the front! Well done!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

