RSS Feed

Holiday Weekend

Posted on

We had a lovely, relaxing holiday weekend. The weather was beautiful, the yard is looking great, and my goal for the summer is for us to spend more time outside in the backyard enjoying it. Things are working out really well with the chickens fenced in. I haven’t remulched the butterfly garden yet (so you can just see the black landscaping fabric) but when I do it’s nice to know it will stay put. We bought tadpoles and fish and restocked the pond. The pond iris is blooming and beautiful. The bearded iris is blooming now, too.
Iris

I added a couple of perennials to the butterfly garden, which has been looking sparse. I think some of the original plants died. Last year’s milkweed is coming back and I hope that it doesn’t get beset by aphids this year.

In the vegetable garden I am making a concerted effort to do a little weeding every day and I think it’s working. Look at my nice beet and carrot seedlings!I thinned the beets a little bit and transplanted the ones I took up. I hope it works.
The Carrot Seed
The peas are climbing high, though no blossoms yet. When I went to look this morning I was surprised to see three tiny baby tomatoes already!
Baby tomatoes!
Also exciting in the garden today-the first peony bloom!
Ta-da!
I love my peonies so much and can’t wait to see them all in full bloom, especially the new ones.

As for Memorial Day we had a very nice one. This year Tabby and I got to march in the parade, too, which meant that we were all in it.
20140526_093042

20140526_092038
Afterwards we had our Scout friends back to our house for some playing and popsicles. Then we went down to the river and went for our first swim.
20140526_123925
The water was very cold, but after I plunged in it just felt refreshing. There’s nothing quite like floating in a river out in the open.
First River Swim of the Year
After that we availed ourselves of a Memorial Day sale and bought new mattresses. Exciting, right? I shouldn’t begrudge the expense of something you use literally every single day, but good golly are they expensive. The kids had a blast occupying themselves with the adjustable bed.
20140526_152527
Later on we had a perfectly low key and relaxed dinner with friends, and swimming in their pool. It was a nice end to the weekend. It seems like now it’s just a quick run through a few weeks of end of year events and summer will be here before we know it.

Oh, and one more thing. We’ve just passed the one year anniversary of getting Gordon!
Gordon

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. What a lovely weekend! And your garden is looking amazing!

    Reply
  2. Everything looks great…we marched in our town parade too this year and spent the rest of the day gardening…my spinach is up but my carrots didn’t take so well this year …I’ll plant a new round but the radishes are doing great.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

