RSS Feed

A Profusion of Peonies

Posted on

I think of the peonies as the highlight of our garden and look forward to them every spring. I can’t take full credit for them because 4 of them were here before we moved. We added another by transplanting and two years ago I bought two “Raspberry Sundae” varieties and added one to the front and one to the back of the house (in an area that has also had a shrub ripped out in the past two weeks, thus further opening up our backdoor area.) It’s taken those full two years to get a bloom so I’ve been filled with anticipation this week as the buds grew bigger and bigger, ever so slowly opening. I ordered them from a catalog and wasn’t even sure what they would look like. Well, they are gorgeous.
Raspberry Sundae Peony
Lush and ruffly with a creamy pale lemony colored interior and delicate pale pink petals. This picture makes me think if a ballerina was a flower this would be it-so ethereal and tutu-y
the ballerina of peonies
It’s a nice contrast to the deep fuschia of the other plants.
Yes, more peonies
My poor Flickr friends have been inundated with photos of the blooms already. And what’s crazy is that I really just take the same pictures of them every spring. I can’t help it! The buds with ants are neat, the slowly opening petals are gorgeous, the fully open flowers are practically vulgar.  And I know I take the same pictures because I went ahead and created a peony set in Flickr! Just wait until it rains-I guarantee there will be raindrops on petals photos.
Yes, more peonies

IMG_7680

Peonies, in vase
And these past couple days are really just the beginning-there are four more shrubs (shrubs? bushes? what do you call the whole peony thing?)that haven’t really bloomed yet. The addition of the white rose bush, and blooming of spiderwort and speedwell, plus some tall Russian sage, and the darling teapot bird feeder are really fulfilling my dreams this year of this area looking like a charming, fragrant, crowded cottage garden.

I’ve gotten back to work on the snowball quilt this week, and today completed the top. Well, mostly completed. I added the first border and put it on my bed to see how much more needs to be added.
Snowball Quilt
I’d say about 8″ on each side, plus 6″ to both ends. I’m not sure what fabric that will be. This is the first quilt/item I’ve made with deliberately all fabric from one particular line. I do still have some of the fabric left, which I’ll probably use for pillows, so I may be challenged, unless I want patchwork, to get an additional fabric. I do actually have a number of squares left that weren’t made into blocks, so maybe I will do a patchwork border. This is an easy pattern-I like how the triangles in the corners make squares. And even though they were extremely uneven as I was putting it together it’s not especially noticeable or troublesome all together.
Snowball Quilt
By the way, I have yet to take a photo of this fabric that accurately shows the colors. And although the pattern is a snowball, it’s fun to give a quilt a name and I believe this one will be the Birdhouse in My Soul. Do you see the sweet little birdhouses and blue birds in one of the cream fabrics? Do you know the They Might Be Giants’ song, Birdhouse in Your Soul? No, well then have a listen. Also, I have no idea how this is going to be quilted. I wanted a quick(ish) machine quilt, but it’s so big that I don’t know if I could do it on my machine. And I don’t want to hand quilt it. And I am not aware of anywhere by me where you can rent time on a long arm machine (I was reading someone’s blog who said they did that), so I may consider it sending it out to be quilted.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

8 responses »

  1. Gorgeous!!!!!!

    Reply
  2. the new peonies are gorgeous.

    Reply
  3. I adore Peonies…but just had to transplant mine as they were getting to shaded and not blooming. Yours are gorgeous …that raspberry sundae is to die for! The quilt looks great too!

    Reply
    • Thank you Donna! I’ve had good success with transplanting peonies, so I’m sure yours will be happy and thrive when you move them.

      Reply
  4. Your photos of the peonies are so beautiful.

    Love the name of your quilt!
    Not to put too fine a point on it
    Say I’m the only bee in your bonnet
    Make a little birdhouse in your soul.

    Reply
  5. You shouldn’t hold back on the peony (and any garden) photos in my book! I adore them and they are gorgeous! This quilt is coming together so nicely, too! (And I love TMBG!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

