RSS Feed

Long Days & Late Nights

Posted on

School’s been out for one week and man did we dive right into summer. It’s been a week of playing with friends, swimming, miniature golf, ice cream, geocaching (found our 100th!!), staying up late, and idle hours. We got to see my brother and nieces, visit and learn about a blimp with the Scouts, finish collecting all of our honey, and spend a day with friends paddleboating and bbq’ing.  (And before you get all-everyone on the internet’s life is so great, there have also been way too many hours of tv and several terrible fights, but who wants to hear about those? Not me. I try to shove those memories away!)   Here are some scenes of the past week:
jumping

The Final Yield

ice cream & miniature golf

Family Portrait

Paddleboating with geese

family portrait

IMG_8609

Blimp

Untitled

I’m one of those people who loves to come up with guidelines, goals, and rules—and then never do them. But yesterday we came up with three things that I want everyone to do everyday and I think we can actually stick with this and if we do it will make me be very happy. The three things are: do an act of kindness, be active, be outdoors. So, each day you need to do some act of kindness for someone-be it a stranger, someone in the family, or whatever. You also need to be outdoors for at least an hour or two. I don’t care what you do out there, but get outside. (I am constantly shocked that our kids seem at loose ends outside. If I was 9 I’d be up in the treehouse with books. I told that to Clark, brought a butterfly chair up to the treehouse for him, and he did spend an hour in it reading. I was also delighted that when he had a friend over, with that friend’s creativity they connected three hoses and brought it to the treehouse to send water down the slide.) And, finally, everyone needs to be active for at least a half an hour. It can be swimming, scootering, walking, biking, playing soccer, I don’t really care what as long as you are moving. Last night we played Frisbee outside until it got dark, mostly because I loved doing that as a kid and was excited to play, and then delighted that it turns out Clark loved it. So, we’ll see how we’re doing with those daily goals in a few weeks.

This has also been a big week in the garden and chicken coop. The biggest news–a chick hatched!!
Baby Chick
It’s a darling little blond/silver one and the lucky mother is Quicksilver.
Baby Chick
I say lucky mother because I believe she just happened to be on the nest when it hatched. We had 3 broody hens and 3 nests, and one of them (coincidentally the one that had the chick) we created by taking eggs from one of the others and putting them there for the 3rd hen. She’s being a very good mother. I don’t have much hope for the other two nests-this morning I found a dead,mostly hatched, chick in one of them. In the meantime, Paul has made new nesting boxes and I’m happy to report that three hens used it immediately.
New Nesting boxes

In the garden we’ve eaten the first zucchini, the first 3 cherry tomatoes, and everything else is growing like gangbusters.
a string of tomatoes

Ripe!
One night for dinner I just sauteed everything I picked-peas, zucchini, and scapes, and had it with pasta.
From the garden
And although this has nothing to do with the garden, I also made a strawberry shortcake in which the shortcakes are chocolate. It was quite tasty.
Chocolate Strawberry Shortcakes

 

Happy Summer!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. Oh, these photos are great! They really remind me of summer when I was a kid. I was just thinking the other day about how lucky my family was that both my parents were teachers and had all summer off, too, so we could do so many family things in the nice weather. (Of course I’m sure we spent half the time whining about being bored and/or squabbling over stupid arguments, but still.) And I’m so jealous of your garden spoils! They look amazing!

    Reply
    • That is indeed nice that you had summers together. I’m going to be switching to school librarian instead of public librarian, in large part so I can be off with my kids during the summer.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

