RSS Feed

Patchwork Picnic Quilt

Posted on

Patchwork Quilt
It’s finished! I am in love with the patchwork scrap quilt.  I don’t know how many picnics it will see, though.
Patchwork Picnic Quilt
It’s super soft and cozy and I imagine it will be wonderful to snuggle under, bring on trips, sit on outside, and all sorts of things.  The inspiration for this quilt came from both a beautiful vibrant patchwork quilt of squares I saw on Flickr, and also the urge I’ve been feeling to make quilts with the scraps I have.  I chose to use straight up squares (the finished size is 5″ squares) and there are ten rows of ten.  I used only fabrics I had, and deliberately arranged them to be pleasing, but not necessarily coordinating.  I kept it bright and pretty and only used cottons (no corduroy, flannel, voile, etc.)  I decided to make a border and was able to use even more pieces, especially pieces too narrow to be squares. To bind it I used a lovely chambray I had for skirts for Tabby. The rather neutral blue is just right. I’m very proud of my nicely mitred corners.
I'm particularly pleased with the mitred corners
I did the binding in one day, staying up way too late so I could have it done for my arbitrary deadline of today. Mostly because I wanted to take pictures of it in the field down the road, on the big hay rolls. Yes, I trucked us all into the field for a photo shoot of my inanimate object.
who doesn't love climbing atop at hay roll and posing?

For quilting I did a diagonal line through the squares. Originally I thought I would quilt it more, doing another diagonal the other way to make an “X” through each square. That would give a denser flatter quilt, but I knew it would also lead to pulls and imperfections. I opted for the lines one way and actually really like it. Also, I usually go for a thread choice that’s not noticeable, but I opted for a hot pink thread, because why not?
Tabby with the finished product
It’s super soft and fluffy, but I’m sure it’s quilted enough to keep the batting secure. Speaking of soft–the backing. Liz mentioned to me she had a quilt that had a flannel sheet as the backing. I’ve used flannel in quilts before, but this gave me an idea. I had a set of flannel sheets from college that I loved. They were blue with polka dots and bunnies and so soft. I wore the pillowcases and fitted sheet completely out, but couldn’t bear to part with the flat sheet. Now the special sheet lives on as the super soft backing of this quilt and will get more use out of it this way. (You can see it in the picture of the mitred corner, above.)
I’m really thrilled with how this came out, plus it was a super easy satisfying quilt to make. Many of the fabrics were ones I used in aprons, some are things I had in my stash that I didn’t know what to do with. It makes me happy just to hold it!
Patchwork Quilt-finished!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

6 responses »

  1. I imagine the girls from Little House on the Prairie running down the hill after you

    Reply
  2. I love everything about this! How wonderful to use special fabric from your past as well as fabric that you’ve used for clothes for Tabby. And I love the hay roll photo shoot! Kudos and well done on all fronts!

    Reply
    • Thank you so much, Anne! I knew you’d appreciate it. Hope you are settling in to your new home and looking forward to seeing updates on the new quilt you are working on!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

