RSS Feed

The Swing of Things

Posted on

Jack Be Littles All in a Row
It’s been a couple weeks since school started and we are definitely in the swing of things. The kids are adjusting well to their new days, but I feel like I’m still figuring things out for myself. I thought that I would have dived into creative projects, but that hasn’t been the case. Instead I find myself flitting from some housekeeping project, to reading, to other stuff.  I’ve been doing a pretty good job of sticking with walking every day, doing 2 1/2 -5 miles each time.  I also seem to have had a lot of lunch dates (though today it was spiced up by being a breakfast date-we went out for a lavish breakfast and then a nice long walk on a trail that Clark and I biked this summer.)  You’d never know it by the look of our house, but I have also been focusing on reorganizing/cleaning small areas.  I also haven’t even been taking many pictures lately. It’s been a strange time! Yesterday I decided to get back to it, picked all the gourds, and brought the guinea pigs out for a photo shoot. They were terrible models! But the gourds were great. It’s definitely been feeling autumnal lately-chilly mornings and nights, sunny days with bright blue skies.  I loved seeing these grow alongside the driveway-huge leaves and blossoms, very cheerful. And then this wonderful assortment of finished vegetables:
Gourds

Pigs n' Punkins

A Cuddle with Nibbles
The garden is well and truly done now and I will have to write up a summary post for it soon. I actually do refer back to them and it helps me with the next year’s garden! We will definitely plant more swamp milkweed in the spring since we had the amazing monarch success this year. This weekend Tabby and I went to Duke Farms to be guest speakers at the Jr. Entomologist class. They were learning about monarchs and the lifecycle and we shared our photos and experience. Mrs. Bird, the wonderful instructor, was so happy for us and hoped that it would encourage more people to plant and support monarchs. Coincidentally, as we were headed out the door to go to Duke Farms I looked over at the garden and we saw another monarch that had just hatched!!!
A New Monarch
I think that next year if we ever have 30 caterpillars on a plant again we will bring some inside to observe.

So far I’ve just done one sewing project on the big craft to-do list–pillowcases for the kids.  They had chosen some beautiful fabrics at PQW and I promised to make them pillowcases out of it. I used a fascinating tutorial to make these and while I truly don’t understand how this works, it’s pretty neat and a clever and quick way to sew everything up neatly and nicely. I think they turned out beautifully.
Sweet Dreams

Sweet Dreams
Yesterday I found myself sitting among my fabrics contemplating a big pinwheel quilt I want to make and ended up playing around with a charm pack I got for Christmas and stitching something up right then and there. It’s certainly not on my to-do list and the quilt I really need to get to work on is Tabby’s, but hey-inspiration hit. Of course, once again I find myself realizing just how small a charm pack is when put together so then you need to add a lot more to get anything of usable size. And, as I start that, plan Tabby’s, and contemplate the big pinwheel, you do start thinking, “Just how cold do I think we all are that we need all these quilts?” But it’s not really about need is it? It’s about the pleasure in creating something beautiful and practical.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. I almost can’t believe all those gourds came from one garden! They’re gorgeous! And such a perfect way to evoke the coming season (I love fall!). That fish fabric is terrific, too. I don’t really have a use in mind for it, but I want to buy some anyway! 🙂

    Reply
    • The gourds turned out so great. I bought one packet of “mixed gourds” seeds and put them all in the ground. They took off like crazy. The big pumpkin seeds grew plants, but no pumpkins. Clark felt as you did= he loved that fish fabric even though he didn’t know what he’d want with it 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

