RSS Feed

Wee Wander

Posted on

It’s fall for real. Trees are changing daily, color is abounding, and it’s pretty lovely.
Autumn color
Unfortunately it’s coinciding with a photo funk I’m in, brought on mostly by my camera having some issues that I think require me actually bringing it somewhere. Which I haven’t done yet. So I just don’t take any pictures or just use my phone. Our beloved maple tree hasn’t had one picture taken of it this fall! (Which, if we’re going to philosophize-does it need a picture taken of it? Haven’t I taken pictures of it every fall? Yes, yes I have. Does it look appreciably different this fall? No, no it doesn’t. But typically (like with the peonies, tomatoes, and my other favorite seasonal subjects) I’m so moved by it I want to take a picture. ) Anyway, I took a picture, and here it is, looking majestic and maple-y, and making me very happy.
October 2, maple tree
I’ve also been spending a lot of time in creative thought this week, and finally in creative practice. At long last I’ve started working on Tabby’s Wee Wander quilt. I love the fabric so much I was really hesitant to finalize a design and cut the fabric, but once we got that all worked out it’s been a pleasure to cut it and piece it. I’m making blocks that frame a central large picture (fussy cut). I’m assembling and sewing one at a time, rather than a more efficient method, because 1. it’s fun to play with the pieces and 2. all the fabrics go together so I can choose the order the blocks will go in after I’ve created them all. And so, here are six of them:
Wee Wander w.i.p.
I swear, I want to jump into the world pictured in this fabric and live there. Tabby is not so excited about the process, but I know she’ll love the end result. She has said she’ll play “Find the Human” on it. And indeed, it is fun to find the little people scattered throughout.

Other things that have been going on–the other day I heard a chicken lay her egg; I’ve been sticking with my goal of daily walking (now amended to 3-5 x a week); I made an awesome autumnal dinner of pork chops with onions and apples; I saw a full rainbow; Tabby lost a tooth in school (something both kids have always wished would happen as you get to go to the nurse and put your tooth in a little treasure box); and I went on a geocaching adventure with a friend (sadly cut short, but we did find a few and it was very fun).
20140928_162114-1

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. Lovely fabric and a great block design to showcase the cute images. I love Autumn too and always feel inspired to take photos of trees. There is something magical about all the glorious colours of the leaves that begs to be captured on a camera.

    Reply
  2. I love this quilt! The block center fabric is so sweet, and the fabrics you’ve used for the other blocks are just perfect. I can’t wait to see it all together! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

