RSS Feed

Namaste

Posted on

Yoga Mat Bag
Last week Tabby started a yoga class that is once a week after school. I got her a nice new purple yoga mat, but thought she should have a bag to carry it in. I’m pretty pleased with this cute and practical yoga mat bag I whipped up. First of all, I used this cute fabric because I have an entire bolt of it so this is the fabric I use any time I need a big piece or need fabric for things like doll napkins. Fortunately, it’s very sweet and I love the deer on it.

20141008_135752

Using the rolled up yoga mat as a guide I cut a piece long enough to have a bit extra at the top and bottom, and go around the roll with some leeway. I also cut out a circle for the bottom.
I always have to think very deliberately about how to make drawstrings, and sure enough I realized I needed to cut my fabric into two pieces so that I could stitch down the top and have covered openings. So the top is a nice finished drawstring with ribbons that will be easy for her to operate. I also stitched on a long strap for carrying it. I’m so pleased with how the circular bottom fits.
Yoga Mat Bag
It’s not too snug, so I think she should be able to get it in herself (that is if she can figure out how to roll up a mat-last week she couldn’t.) She really liked the first class and I’m so happy for her. She told me she learned 4 words to help her out when she’s mad or sad or frustrated or angry: “peace begins with me.” She really took it to heart and I thought those were some pretty good words to keep on hand.
Yoga Mat Bag* and here is Tabby with it this morning, off to school.

20141009_082835

 

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

Leave a Reply

