RSS Feed

Quilting, Piecing, Stitching

Posted on

I’m so excited-yesterday I picked up my quilt from the long-arm quilter lady! I am absolutely thrilled with how it looks. First of all, I’m pleased to say that my worries about feeling like it would be less of my own quilt were totally put to rest. When I saw it I remembered how much I liked designing it and putting it together, and the quilting she did for me just enhanced it. She chose an all-over rose design to complement the roses in most of the fabrics. It looks amazing.
BIrdhouse in My Soul--Quilted!
This is also the first thing I’ve made that has been this densely quilted and it’s really neat to feel how flat it is.
BIrdhouse in My Soul--Quilted!
Neatest of all is that since I backed it in muslin and she quilted it in light blue thread, the design shows up perfectly on the back! The design is also really apparent in the dark blue border.  In some places the roses just happen to perfectly fill a block.
BIrdhouse in My Soul--Quilted!
I can’t wait to get this finished and on our bed.  I need to make the binding and then put that on, but that should only be a matter of a few days stitching.

In the meantime I’ve made great headway on the Wee Wander quilt.
2014-10-26 18.07.04
I’ve completed 35 blocks to make it 5×7. After some gentle persuasion I got Tabby to see that it would look better this way than with the panel in the center, as we’d originally planned. (not all blocks pictured here):

20141021_153216Instead we will make a matching pillowcase out of the panel (which I still need to order, but fortunately there are plenty of yards currently in stock at Hawthorne Threads.) I’m really pleased with each and every block and am looking forward to figuring out the perfect arrangement for them.
Wee wander, coming along

I’ve really been trying to work on and finish up projects on my creative list, so here’s one little embroidery piece that I completed this week. I’m going to hang it on Tabby’s wall:
Finally finished this little embroidery piece. #unicorn #embroidery

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. The long-arm quilting looks beautiful! I have often thought about how I’d feel about having someone else do the quilting on a piece I made, and I haven’t really decided how I feel about it – but it’s encouraging to hear you say that it felt okay for you!

    Reply
    • Thank you Anne! I can’t see myself always using the quilter, but it definitely worked out for this one. Tabby’s quilt will be machine quilted by me, and I’m really going to commit to finishing the hand quilting on the prism quilt this winter. My mom whips through all of her quilts with hand quilting and I just don’t know how she does it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

