RSS Feed

Adding to our Menagerie

Posted on

This fall Clark’s 4th grade class did a unit on live animals, keeping and studying millipedes, frogs, and crabs. It’s definitely one of his favorite things he’s ever done in school. Well, the unit has ended and the creatures were all up for adoption. And of course he wanted some and of course we said yes.  So now we have 4 teeny tiny frogs, a bunch of millipedes, and a bunch of little crabs.  Paul was most interested in the millipedes, Clark most interested in the crabs, and I stated that they could have them and they would not be my responsibility. I thought I’d be really grossed out by the millipedes

2014-11-21 09.32.34

but then Clark took one out and it was really neat to watch it’s many little legs undulating in waves as his crawled all around.
Our new "pets"
And they are pretty when spiraled up.
Our new "pets"

The frogs are very tiny and really do nothing but kick around in their water.

2014-11-20 21.02.28

But the crabs! I found them pretty unsettling at first. There are 8 of them and they climb around and make little scratching noises against the plastic and they seemed really creepy. But then I started looking at them. They have eye stalks!! And put their little pincers around the stalks (to clean them?) and don’t cut them off!
Our new "pets"
And you can see them putting things in their mouth!
There are two males, very distinguishable by their gigantic left claw. They are so uneven looking!
2014-11-21 09.37.15
Doesn’t it look like this one has a bowtie? Or a smile?
Our new "pets"
I’m really enjoying watching them go in their water and do what looks to human eyes like taking a bath. But you know who really loves them? The cat.

2014-11-20 21.05.34It’s hard to get a good picture of the crabs-they are very alarmed by the camera near them and they skitter about very quickly. I hope to get some better pictures of the millipedes, too.

 

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. The frogs will need a rock so they can get out of the water, they can drown!

    Reply
  2. Ugh. I would not particularly be excited about having millipedes around!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

