RSS Feed

Birdhouse in my Soul

Posted on

Finished! I’m so excited this quilt is complete. Last night I finished stitching the binding on and I think it looks beautiful.  I do still need to sign it (I’ll embroider my name and the year on the back), but let’s just call it done. Here is the front:
Birdhouse in my Soul-complete!!
and back:
Birdhouse in my Soul-complete!!
and beautifully folded so you can see the binding.
Birdhouse in my Soul-complete!!
I think I shall never tire of this lovely Tanya Whelan Sugar Hill fabric.
Birdhouse in my Soul-complete!!

Birdhouse in my Soul-complete!!
Next up-I need to make some matching pillowcases with the leftover fabric. If I was a go-getter I’d do that right now, but I have a lot of other sewing/Christmas demands on my time at the moment, so it might have to wait. According to my flickr photos, I posted a photo of the pieces I cut for this quilt in June of 2012. 2012!! It’s taken me over 2 years to finally put this quilt together. And, I’ll point out, this is a very simple pattern, not even complicated, nor did I hand quilt it. No matter, it was worth the wait and I can’t wait to sleep underneath it tonight.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. It is beautiful! And it’s HUGE, so I think the time spent is pretty reasonable. Someday I will make a quilt for our bed – this is such an inspiration!

    Reply
    • Thank you Anne! I knew you’d like it 🙂 This is definitely the biggest quilt I’ve made. I can’t wait to see how it wears over the years.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

