RSS Feed

In the (Christmas) Sewing Room

Posted on

This weekend I decided to make a felt ornament based on the classic vintage glass ornaments that, well, you’ll know the ones I mean when I show you the picture.
Sequined Felt Ornament
I used my good wool felt and just freehand cut out the shape. I doodle stitched with embroidery thread, used metallic silver thread to stitch the top of the ornament, and then got crazy with the sequins. I have a big jar of them and just picked through to find the colors I wanted.
Another Felt & Sequined Ornament
The first one was blue and green, and I gave that one away. So then I had to make another one for myself. This one is pink/coral, so I used pink and orange sequins.  At one point I found myself thinking, “Hm..does this need more sequins?” and then I thought, “The answer to that is always YES.” So I just put sequins all over it.
Sequined Felt Ornament
Anyway, I’m delighted with how these came out and it was rather relaxing to sew on the sequins with the tiny seed beads.
Another Felt & Sequined Ornament

 

When we unpacked the Christmas decorations I came across a piece of fabric that I’d started embroidering a couple of years ago. I used an iron on transfer of ornaments.  I’ve been in a very productive efficient sewing frame of mind the past couple of weeks, so when I found it I grabbed some red and green fabric, stitched on a border and back, and stuck in a pillow form. Voila! Christmas cheer.
Christmas Stitching
Also, as predicted (promised!) I’ve been making a big batch of little towels that button over the oven door handle (I don’t know what to call these-oven towels?). I’m looking forward to making these in other fabrics, too, but for now it’s all Christmas fabrics. (and for the record, I’ve apparently been making things from the same Christmas fabrics for the past several years. I’m sure everyone is getting tired of them.) Don’t they look cute all lined up?
A whole batchAnd today I went to Joann’s and picked up some things to finish up the THREE quilts in progress I’ve got going. Which is, frankly, nuts. Especially because none of them are a Christmas quilt..

 

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. The ornaments you made are so lovely! When I was growing up my folks had that type of ornament (inherited from my grandparents) and I just love them. Your embroidery and sequins are just perfect!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

