RSS Feed

Holiday Cakes & Buns

Posted on

I saw a recipe online that I couldn’t resist trying out this year. Adorably called “Holiday Gift Cakes” and even more adorably baked in soup cans, how could I not try it out? I thought they would indeed be great gift cakes for teachers.  Tabby and I mixed it all up and made three can shapes and two little loaves.
Cherry Pecan Cakes
Fortunately this left us with one loaf to try out and I can now attest that this recipe is delicious.
Cherry Pecan Cakes
Basically like a cream cheese pound cake. The cherries and pecans are just right. I think whether you use a mini loaf pan or a soup can, they both look so cute with a nice glaze and a cherry on top. I predict I’ll be making these again in the future. (Check out the recipe at LiveLaughRowe)

 

I also made the annual big batch of sticky buns for Christmas morning breakfast. I always make them ahead of time and then pop them in the freezer.
The Buns.
I messed with tradition and made one of the pans have a different filling-almonds, white sugar, orange zest, and golden raisins. We’ll see how that goes over. We were able to try two of them that I baked separately. They were pretty darn delicious, especially with a little glaze leftover from the cakes.
The Buns.

The kids are demented with excitement, there’s only 1/2 day left of school, and pretty much all the wrapping left to be done. I’m looking forward to finishing watching Holiday Inn while we wrap up our gifts tonight and then tomorrow begins the Christmas fun with friends as our good friends join us for Christmas Eve Eve games, pizza, and meatballs. Hurrah!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. Hi Sarah! Tickled silly you tried the cakes — and loved them. Your sticky buns sound delicious too 🙂 Where are you in NJ? My parents currently live in Wayne. I miss the East Coast every single day. Happy Holidays to you and yours.

    Reply
    • HellO! I’m so glad you saw this 🙂 we live in beautiful central NJ, in Somerset County. My husband is from up by Wayne, though. I used to live in Indiana for a couple years and I missed the East Coast an awful lot during that time. Thanks for sharing your recipe-it’s a keeper!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

