RSS Feed

A Eulogy for My Sewing Machine

Posted on

A few days before my Christmas my sewing machine abruptly stopped working. And I mean abruptly-I was in the midst of machine quilting the quilt I’m making for Tabby and had just three more lines to go to be halfway done. I brought it to the shop and resigned myself to the fact that it might not be done by Christmas. Well, today I went to pick it up and found out that the machine is truly dead and they were unable to repair it. Woe!
Toll the death knell for my beloved sewing machine-the repair man says it is unfixable #sewing
I received my machine almost 10 years ago as a birthday gift from Paul.  I was pregnant with Clark and probably like many soon-to-be-moms I was eager to sew up some curtains for his room. (Not unheard of-I grew up with a mom who was a terrific sewer and quilter and my grandmother was an amazing sewist as well.) My sturdy Kenmore machine served me well for the past 9 1/2 years as I made those first terrible curtains, my first terrible apron, and then began learning more and more.  It has sewn for me many baby clothes, 9 quilts, dresses, tops, gifts, doll clothes, dozens of aprons, purses and bags,  hemmed pants and skirts, and made all sorts of other things. I can’t go back all 9 years, but at a glance  here’s 2014’s Sewing Projects, 2013,  2012, and 2011. I’ve helped Tabby learn to sew a little on it.
Learning to Sew
I’ve explored elastic thread and free motion quilting.
Trying something new

@the machineI learned and created so much with this machine.  I was as fond of it as one can be of a machine. Farewell machine and thanks for everything!  I won’t be long without because I’m starting to shop around already. After all, I’ve got not only Tabby’s quilt to finish, but two more lined up to make!

 

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

7 responses »

  1. Very sad (and not great timing) but it’s also magical to reflect and realize how much was made using just the one machine! And it’s (a little) easier to make a large purchase like a sewing machine knowing how much you’ll actually use it and get your money’s worth.

    Reply
    • I honestly can’t believe how much use I got out of it. Definitely got my money’s worth out of it. And although the timing is bad, this morning I realized that the baby quilt I need to make is blocks with applique on them, so I can absolutely doing the cutting and appliqueing now.

      Reply
  2. Very sad…. We do become like family with our machines. Im sorry for your loss 🙂

    Reply
  3. I’m really really hoping I didn’t break it while working on the boys’ quilts. 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

