RSS Feed

Happy New Year!

Posted on

I have yet to do my big, fond, look back at the year and the year in photos post, but it’s already January 5 and I’d better get on the goals and resolutions post. [It seems traditional now that I write this post on the first day back at school for the kids and indeed, it’s been a wonderful solitary day of productivity.] So, first, a quick wrap up of our end of year. After Christmas we had a now-traditional Boxing Day Chinese lunch with friends, went to see a production of Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat with my mom, I had my favorite Christmas exchange with my dear friends-and now I can finally share here a picture of one of the gifts I made! I had in this in mind since last Christmas and finally started it in November. The finished size is small-it fits a 3×5 frame. And it’s been a while since I cross-stitched. Consequently this gifts was made not just with love, but also frequent exclamations of “I’m going blind!” I really could only work on it in broad daylight, next to a window. These stitches are so teeny! But I love how it came out, and more importantly so does Melissa. It was totally worth it and actually didn’t even take as long as I thought it would.
"I just like to smile, smiling's my favorite"
started work on a baby quilt for my cousin’s new baby (born on New Year’s Eve),
New year, new quilt for a new baby
enjoyed fondue with friends on New Year’s Day, tasted our Bertie Botts every flavour beans,
Bertie Botts' Every Flavour Beans
played with all the new toys, spend many hours on the MarioKart 8 racetrack, and rang in the new year with both kids staying up all the way to midnight! We enjoyed pigs in blankets, board games, and Guardians of the Galaxy. (The next day we saw How to Train Your Dragon 2, which can I just say was wonderful?)
Post Christmas Gaming
May your New Years always include pigs in blankets #happynewyear #newyearseve #pigsinblankets

Post Christmas Gaming

And now all the decorations are down and packed away and the house feels fresh and ready for a new start. We cleaned out and reorganized Clark’s room and might move on to some other rooms.Oh! and best of all-Secret TV Day! Today is not technically the first day back at school for the kids-Friday, January 2 was. Which was stupid. Come on, let’s use our head school schedulers. But they enjoyed seeing the few friends who went to school and Paul had off so it was just the two of us at home. We had known about it for weeks and already decided on our decadent plan–a day of watching tv. Specifically, binge watching a show. And the chosen show was Downton Abbey, which we had somehow never watched. Oh it was wonderful!! A terrific show, a decadent day.

OK, so the Goals & Resolutions. Let’s begin with seeing how I did with last year’s.  Last year I had a strategy of deliberately setting some pretty low goals for myself. I had ended the previous year frustrated with my ability to achieve any goals and deliberately kept them low for 2014.  I will say that that strategy led to what looked like amazing overachievement when it came to my Goodreads reading record-91 books in 2014! Here’s what I set out last January:

1. Family fitness challenge: we all need to lose weight and get in shape. I’m making this my primary mission for the year and trying to pretend we’re in a magazine and obligated to succeed. This had mixed results. Paul lost weight and I started a good long walk habit in the fall that’s been pretty successful, but as a whole family, not so much. It’s a long process.

2.Sewing: finish the rainbow quilt, finish the snowball quilt, and buy the fabric and plan out Tabby’s quilt. I still didn’t finish the rainbow quilt, I did finish the snowball, and almost completed Tabby’s.

3. Reread books.  I thought about this a lot last year and reread one book.  There are many books I love and want to read again, but I’m always too tempted by new ones. This year I’d like to make a point to reread and rediscover some of my favorite books of the past. I had some success with this. Read about it on my book year-end post.

  Goal #4 is to find a way to earn some income, but I hesitate to even formally list that because I don’t have high hopes for it. I did a couple of freelance jobs this past year that I loved, but they unfortunately did not lead to more.

So, not too bad. And this year my hopes are pretty much the same, but I’ll add in some more fun ones.

1. Fitness & Health: Again, more activity and losing weight all around. Specifically I want to keep up with my walking (2-5 miles, 3-5 days a week.)

2. Sewing: Get a new machine, finish hand quilting the rainbow quilt, make a Christmas quilt, and make a Halloween quilt with the cool new Spooktacular fabric bundle I got for Christmas.

3. Get a job. I’m not super jazzed about this goal, but it really is at the top of my list this year.  I need to get working again and if not in my chosen career, then somewhere else.

4. I’m doing it. Putting it back on the list for the third year–learn to crochet!

5. And, get a dog.  I think this year we’ll all be ready to welcome a new dog into the family.  Pippin can’t be replaced and he’ll always have such a special place in our hearts, but we would definitely like a dog again.

6. Have a successful garage sale. Last year’s was such a bust it made me mad at everyone for not coming out and buying my old stuff. I hope this year’s will be better. Come on people, don’t make me just throw away perfectly good stuff! 🙂

7. And always, strive for harmony in the family, enjoy the good times together, appreciate each day.

Wishing you all the best in 2015,

Sarah
Orange Blossom Special

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

8 responses »

  1. If you need some crochet inspiration here’s a wonderful pattern for kids or adults! https://www.etsy.com/listing/118303585/crochet-pattern-the-woodlynn-wolf-cowl?ref=shop_home_active_11&ga_search_query=hood

    I know the crochet basics but have very little patience. A friend made me the Fox hood from this site and I just love it. Now I’m determined to make this one for myself. Looks like it uses a big hook and chunky yarn so it should go quickly and make me feel accomplished.

    Good Luck!

    Reply
  2. You will love crochet. Check out Lucy’s blog at Attic24 in England. Her blog and patterns are wonderful, I think you have a lot in common.

    Reply
  3. I am thrilled you are now a Downton Abby fan-personally I can’t wait for season 5! But I am disappointed that your Christmas decorations are down. It’s not even Epiphany yet (when the wise men actually got there). Christmas starts on the 25th not ends! 🙂

    Reply
    • We are taping season 5 now so that we can watch it when it’s all done. We kept up our outside Christmas decor, but it was time for fresh starts and clean beginnings inside! I was trying to explain Epiphany to Clark and was basically stumped when he said, “then why do all the pictures and stories show them all together on Christmas night with the baby?”

      Reply
      • I would tell him a 12-day old baby looks a lot like a newborn. And if they were wise women they would have been there on time.

  4. I forgot to say how much I loved the cross stitch you made. Great job. I hope to return to cross stitching myself one day. I do miss it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

