RSS Feed

Knitting Along

Posted on

Well I’ve been practicing quite a bit over the past couple days. I managed to finish off a little piece fairly successfully and look what a lovely shrug it makes for Jill.

2015-01-12 16.20.55

It seems that your stages of learning to knit (or crochet) can be measured in dolls scarves: Polly Pocket scarf, Barbie Scarf, American Girl doll scarf. Then eventually human child, human adult. I decided to go ahead and use the beautiful soft green yarn Megan gave me, even though it seems better for someone advanced as it is a bit fluffy. I cast on a lot of stitches so it’s pretty wide. It’s just practice so I hesitate to say it will be anything, but maybe it could be a scarf? Tiny neck wrap? There’s always Barbie blanket.

IMG_1265

I still have questions, such as what’s that hole doing in the middle? And how come it’s not a perfect rectangle, but angles down on the side? But overall I think it’s going well. I’ve got about a 2″ x 9″ rectangle so far. Here are some things I’ve observed:

  • I had no idea knitting primarily took place all at the tip of the needles. (unless I’m doing it wrong. and bear in mind I’m only doing one stitch.)
  • It’s interesting to me how much you can manipulate it-I can bunch up the piece and it looks like a pretty ruffle, or I can stretch it out.
  • I’m fascinated that you can start without even a pair of scissors-it’s all one uninterrupted piece of yarn!
  • Again, I’m fascinated that you can just pick up the needles and yarn and that’s it-you’re good to go. When I’m settling in to do some cross stitch or embroidery I’ve always got my little scissors, a pincushion or needlebook, my threads, and the piece. This seems so free of supplies!
  • Also fascinated to realize you could do this lying down.
  • 2015-01-13 12.17.34

Now, the bad news. The muscles in the thumb pad part of my hands are killing me. Like, serious pain and it hurts to pick up anything requiring a grasp.  I have to assume it is from trying out this new activity (which did not hurt while I was doing it at all) with lots of intense concentration while learning.  No matter, I’m very pleased! And my hands will have a break tomorrow because…my new sewing machine arrives tomorrow!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

One response »

  1. Oh, you’re coming along awesomely! This looks terrific! As for some of the things you pointed out:
    *Yes, it does all take place primarily at the tips of the needles! You’re doing it right! 😀
    *It’s extremely common to accidentally pick up or drop stitches when you’re a beginning knitter (and it’s not hard to do it anytime, regardless of your experience). This means that your rectangular piece will be slightly less exact, but really, who cares! A handmade blanket/scarf/whatever is beautiful regardless of its so-called perfection or lack thereof, in my book.
    *When a lot of knitters first start out, they are holding onto the needles with a lot more tension/muscle-action than is really necessary. For a lot of folks, this results in super-tight knitting where it’s difficult to even get the needle in to knit a new stitch (yours doesn’t look that tight – so yay!). It can also result in hand-cramps, though, which sucks! One thing that I’ve found that I prefer is to use a circular needle rather than two straight needles – for me, it’s just more comfortable when I’m sitting (slouching) on the couch which is where I’m usually doing my knitting. Some knitters prefer overly long straight needles so they can tuck the left-hand one under their arm while knitting (some of these folks knit continental – which I haven’t taught myself to do yet – so I really don’t know that much about it). Anyway, I’d guess that this will probably fade as you get more comfortable with knitting, regardless of what needles you’re using. I also often do a lot of hand stretches, moving my wrists around and stuff, when I’m doing a lot of knitting or working on something where I seem to be more tense than I should be.

    And I agree -the fact that not too many supplies are needed throughout most of any project is awesome! It’s great to just grab and go.

    I am so happy for you! This is awesome!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

